Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2000, 09:56 AM
Baixo Baixo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 215
Default Graphics Cards and Slowness

Somewhere I read that it's good to disable cerain aspects of your graphics cards so that PT runs better because the cards aren't hogging bus throughput. Which are these then? Which extensions must I keep?

I'm using the ATI 128 that came in my AGP G4.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2000, 04:29 PM
David Roesch David Roesch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 26
Default Re: Graphics Cards and Slowness

Baixo,

The Pro Tools GUI doesn't seem to need a lot of graphics horsepower. You can safely disable extentions like the ATI 3D Graphics Accelerator to lower system overhead (and save on some system heap space as well).
Also- Digi suggests running at only 256 colors, regardless of what video card you use; running at higher color depths is just a waste of resources.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2000, 01:25 AM
modularmoog3 modularmoog3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 35
Default Re: Graphics Cards and Slowness

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Baixo:
Somewhere I read that it's good to disable cerain aspects of your graphics cards so that PT runs better because the cards aren't hogging bus throughput. Which are these then? Which extensions must I keep?

I'm using the ATI 128 that came in my AGP G4.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I might be wrong here so please correct me but the AGP would not cause any problems (only PCI gfx cards will).

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2000, 01:45 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Graphics Cards and Slowness

disable all the ATI graphics extensions
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only NVIDIA graphics cards are supported (PC)???? Rockman413 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 16 11-28-2012 04:39 PM
Graphics cards tghrs Pro Tools 9 5 12-07-2010 02:49 PM
What graphics cards are you guys using? Big Crouton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-09-2010 12:45 PM
Do Graphics Cards make a difference? Timster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-30-2004 01:21 PM
Matrox Graphics cards Tomio Broman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 11 02-26-2004 04:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com