Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2003, 11:15 AM
benderbro benderbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfield, CT USA
Posts: 254
Default Can\'t draw out clicks

Digi told me that this would not be an issue once I started using DigiTranslator but nothing has changed.
After receiving an omf of a film or TV show and importing it into a pro tools session, the audio files are locked (ie: the pencil tool has a little lock icon next to it) and clicks and such cannot be drawn out.
The workaround right now is to save session copy in and have all of the audio files copy over to another drive which then creates unlocked audio.
This is a ridiculous extra step which was never necessary before I went to HD. Why do we have to even deal with this issue? Does anyone know of a fix?
__________________
"this guitar won't play that"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2003, 02:06 PM
benderbro benderbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfield, CT USA
Posts: 254
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

Steve, the regions are not locked in that way, it only manifests itself when you try and do destructive editing such as the pencil tool.

schorse, your solution is a good one, so you get it on a mix plus? It must have started with a certain version of PT because I never had the problem on my ole PT III TDM system.
__________________
"this guitar won't play that"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2003, 05:57 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

A quick workaround.. yeah I know you didn't want that.. but you shouldn't be drawing out pops with the pencil tool on the original file anyway.. simply highlite a selection around the pop and consolidate it, then go ahead and draw out the noise.. if you screw up, you can always get back to the original untarnished file. The drawing tool is destructive, having a duplicate playlist won't help if you make a mistake.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2003, 12:30 AM
schorse schorse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin
Posts: 28
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

i'm not sure what the reason is - is it omf files? but it DOES happens on mix+ systems just as well. i usually just duplicate a small region around the clicks, draw out clicks and put it right on top of the original. it's not elegant but works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2003, 12:34 AM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

Can't you just unlock the audio regions? Select the regions and press <command L>.
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2003, 04:51 PM
benderbro benderbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfield, CT USA
Posts: 254
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

Rail,

with multiple undos now I don't have to worry about making a mistake with the pencil tool (and I do make my share)

almost idiot proof!

Digi, let's hear from you on this please!
__________________
"this guitar won't play that"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2003, 08:39 PM
benderbro benderbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfield, CT USA
Posts: 254
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

yeah, up to 16 undo's worth, I do it often
__________________
"this guitar won't play that"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2003, 08:53 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,717
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

Currently, redrawing a waveform with the pencil tool is considered a "destructive" process and has only one level of undo.

With that in mind, forcing the creation of a duplicate file so that it can be "penciled" protects original files that could be in use in more that one session or project.

In an environment where two or more systems share files or two or more people are working on a project (Avid Unity, Rocket Network, or even simple ethernet networking) it is imparitive that a file, that could be used in many different projects, sessions, etc. remains as it is. If user A redraws the waveform on a file that User B is also using in a different session, User B's sessions will therefore be alterd for better or worse.

Forcing User A to duplicate a file before it is destructively edited protects User B and anyone else that may be using that file.

Although, at times it can be inconvenient, it is a safety measure that in some workflows is mandatory.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2003, 11:14 PM
anal-log anal-log is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 43
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

Quote:
Originally posted by DigiTechSupt:
Currently, redrawing a waveform with the pencil tool is considered a "destructive" process and has only one level of undo.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I dunno, I just did a bunch of redraws and had
16 undo's.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2003, 05:57 AM
benderbro benderbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Fairfield, CT USA
Posts: 254
Default Re: Can\'t draw out clicks

anal-log, I'm with you, I 've been doing it all along,
Jon, what about an environment where I am not sharing files over anetwork but just working by myself on a session and want to be able to use the pencil tool without the locked audio files? Why is this suddenly being imposed upon me and why isn't there a way to turn that off during omf conversion? That is the answer I really want to my original question.
__________________
"this guitar won't play that"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Draw waveform pen GS-DK Pro Tools 10 2 05-04-2012 06:34 AM
PT doesn't draw waveform mr.armadillo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-23-2008 10:07 AM
Can't draw in a ritard in 6/8? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-17-2007 05:13 AM
why doesn't a fade always draw in on 6.1 JAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-26-2004 11:00 AM
Do you have this waveform draw bug? saltminer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-16-2001 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com