Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2003, 11:54 PM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Quick click setting question...

Hey there. I'd like to set my PT click to have a jazz or swing feel. Not being too educated in the rhythmic theory area, I have no idea how to do this (in the Tempo/Meter Change dialog window in 5.1.1). Could anyone respond with a quick tip? Just the basic, tizz tip tedizz, tip tedizz, tip tedizz, tip tedizz that would be played on the hi-hat or ride cymbal.

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2003, 06:28 AM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Quick click setting question...

I don't think you should try this.

A click track with a swing feel would generally be an eighth-note click. Why would that be helpful? A quarter-note click is almost certainly easier to play with.

If you do a quarter-note click, it will have a straight feel so you don't need to do anything special on your end. And this is totally fine; it's the interaction between a straight pulse and swing eighths that creates the rhythmic push and pull of jazz.

Stick with quarter-note clicks, and your jazz artists will be just fine. That is, if they don't mind playing with a click in general...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2003, 11:47 AM
davip davip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 528
Default Re: Quick click setting question...

I pretty much agree with the above, but I can imagine situations where you might want the click to imply the swing feel. The best way might be to have a quarter note click with an underlying triplet pulse. Take a look at the Metro click plugin from http://www.tllabs.com.

You could also record a MIDI sequence using hi-hat samples and quantize it to any swing percentage you like if true triplets aren't swingy enough.
__________________
Dual 2.3 GHz PowerPC G5
2.5GB RAM
OS 10.4.6
HD 2 Accel
PT 7.1cs9
192 I/O
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2003, 11:12 PM
leebeefunny2 leebeefunny2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 44
Default Re: Quick click setting question...

yo
if you had an audio click track instead of midi, then you can use beat detective to manually add a user defined amount of swing. do it to one bar of click...then repeat it. good-luck.
__________________
correct me if i'm wrong -- lcq
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie question... setting the click track tempo jdport2 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 02-19-2010 07:32 PM
MPC Click plugin setting soundgott Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-10-2010 03:11 AM
A-Z quick key setting not working on M-Powered 8? truthsandrights Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-04-2010 09:16 PM
Triplet Setting with Click AURORA4DTH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 12:25 AM
Quick quick quick DSP farm card Question Mr335 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-06-2002 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com