Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2015, 12:38 PM
nilmb nilmb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Andorra
Posts: 6
Default Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

Hallo PT community!

I've recently bought a PT Quartet and today I tried to open PT sessions I created with my old interface (MBox 3 normal).

The thing is that when I open these sessions, PT claims that:

"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48kHz."

I then set my Quartet, from the PT IO Control Panel, to 48kHz and try to open the very same session again. To my surprise PT this time states:

"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1kHz."

Is there any known incompatibility with old PT sessions created with other interfaces and PT Quartet?

I am afraid not being able to retrieve my older work.

Any help or insights will be very welcome.

Thanks for your patience,

Nil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2015, 01:49 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

This definitely doesn´t have to do anything with the Quartet itself.
I´m using the original, silver Apogee version of the Quartet and could
open any old session without any problems.

It must be a problem with the Avid driver for the Avid version of the Quartet
(not again ...those Avid hardware drivers...). Or with the PTI/O software.
The Apogee driver/Maestro software is not showing such an issue at all.

Maybe try to disconnect the Quartet from the system and open your old sessions
with the internal audio engine only. Then save these sessions in the new PT11 format.
After that uninstall and reinstall the Avid Quartet driver and the PTI/O software.
Make sure that the sample rate setting on the Quartet matches the sessions and
try to open the new PT11 versions of your old sessions.

No guarantee that it will help in any way but it´s worth a try.

As mentioned before if there´s a problem it´s in the Avid driver/PT I/O software
as the Quartet itself and the Maestro software (Apogee version of PTI/O) are not
showing such an issue at all.


The best of success anyway,

VRW




Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, Mac OSX 10.10.2 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2
Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.3.1, Logic 10.0.7, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2015, 04:07 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

PS: I forgot, after uninstalling, before reinstalling the Quartet driver and the PTi/O software,
you may do the whole trash preferences/repair disk permissions stuff!
Just to "clear up" your system and PT itself before trying it once again.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2015, 03:26 AM
nilmb nilmb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Andorra
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

Yep! I do agree VRW. Thanks for your words! I am also sure it has to do with PT I/O drivers. If I don't find any other solution, I'll try to solve it as you said, however, all my old sessions were created with PT11.

It is a shame that they put out this drivers with such basic problems.

I will add something even more crazy: I also have had problems with sample rates in the same session created and later opened again with the same Quartet.

Any PT staff help?

Does anyone have had similar problems as I do?

Thanks guys for the support!

Nil

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRW View Post
This definitely doesn´t have to do anything with the Quartet itself.
I´m using the original, silver Apogee version of the Quartet and could
open any old session without any problems.

It must be a problem with the Avid driver for the Avid version of the Quartet
(not again ...those Avid hardware drivers...). Or with the PTI/O software.
The Apogee driver/Maestro software is not showing such an issue at all.

Maybe try to disconnect the Quartet from the system and open your old sessions
with the internal audio engine only. Then save these sessions in the new PT11 format.
After that uninstall and reinstall the Avid Quartet driver and the PTI/O software.
Make sure that the sample rate setting on the Quartet matches the sessions and
try to open the new PT11 versions of your old sessions.

No guarantee that it will help in any way but it´s worth a try.

As mentioned before if there´s a problem it´s in the Avid driver/PT I/O software
as the Quartet itself and the Maestro software (Apogee version of PTI/O) are not
showing such an issue at all.


The best of success anyway,

VRW




Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, Mac OSX 10.10.2 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2
Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.3.1, Logic 10.0.7, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2015, 02:26 PM
donnydonny's Avatar
donnydonny donnydonny is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 42
Default Re: Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

There shouldn't be any compatibility issues when opening a session that was created with a different interface. Let's try something:

1. Try launching Pro Tools while holding the 'N' key. This should bring up the Playback Engine prior to PT fully launching.
2. Choose a different Playback Engine and hit OK.
3. Open a session.
4. Go to Setup > Playback Engine and choose the Quartet again.

Do you get the same message? If not, then you should be OK. If so, try an uninstall and reinstall of the latest drivers available on http://www.avid.com/drivers.
__________________
Donny
Avid Community Team
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2015, 04:52 AM
nilmb nilmb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Andorra
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with PT Quartet and PT project sample rate

Hi Donny.

When the 'Playback Engine' dialog pops up before PT starts, I am not allowed to choose the Engine, as PT Quartet is automatically selected (see attached photo).

I have in fact the latest drivers installed.

Thanks !! :)

Nil
Attached Images
File Type: png Engine.PNG (30.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Sample Rate mdava FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 12-17-2014 09:27 AM
Cannot save project / Sample rate issue ddj1991 Windows 1 11-30-2012 10:37 AM
Focusrite Saffire 56 Sample Rate Problems - Sample rates changing during start up finalcut Windows 12 02-20-2012 05:00 AM
Sample rate problems? wordmanjay macOS 2 05-31-2011 09:23 AM
what sample rate for my project? Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-08-2004 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com