Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2007, 08:51 AM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Platinum Samples AFJ...

All of a sudden BFD (already a great program) comes alive, sounds freakin' amazing !
Sloshy hi-hats, cool. Is anyone having success running this with 2G RAM? Seems my 2G isn't enough (large install). Maybe I should just shut up and pony up for another 2G?
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2007, 03:21 PM
GregJ GregJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 256
Default Re: Platinum Samples AFJ...

I have been running it with 2 Gigs of ram for several months now. I use BFD All on my instrument track and have the samples loaded onto a dedicated SATA I drive.

I get the ocassional "hiccup", but nothing bad enough to keep me from recording.

The other thing that I did on my last BFD Program install was to install the Standalone version to the same drive that my samples are on. Probably not a really big deal though....

AFJ samples are by far the best freakin' drums I have ever had the pleasure to experiment with. I am just now starting to get the hang of how to make the kick drum sound like I REALLY want it to on my setup.

Oh, and the other "big A-HA" moment I had recently was to LOWER THE VELOCITY on the hits on the instrument track and then bring them up through compression if needed.

I can't help but endlessly gush about these drum sounds.
Must...stop.....now...or go on forever!!!!....



GregJ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:47 PM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Platinum Samples AFJ...

Looks like we have a similar set up. I also added an SATA drive just for these samples. I do notice on some kits that I run out of RAM though. Can't remember which kits do this. Probably sessions with other VI's.
Good tips, I also like to dampen the kick & toms (especially on faster tunes) in the kit-piece screen.
I think I will add the extra RAM when I can & just work around it until then.
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PodFarm 2 Platinum, Steven Slate Drums 4 Platinum/FXG Bundle, VE Pro 5 DRC Music Buy & Sell 0 09-29-2013 08:53 AM
Platinum samples for BFD 2, killer price! guitardom General Discussion 1 03-01-2011 12:43 PM
MSI P6N SLI Platinum mbeswick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-29-2007 03:51 PM
Platinum Samples!!!!!! GregJ Virtual Instruments 16 11-16-2006 09:53 PM
MSI K8N Neo Platinum jalpunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-17-2005 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com