Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2006, 04:18 AM
songman songman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 691
Default PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

Each time I quit PT, seconds after it has actually quit I get this warning that "The application ProTools 7.1 quit unexpectedly" Anyone had this? NO Rewire apps involved in any way (see former thread on the problem).

G5 Quad, 3.5 Gb Ram, HD3 Accell PCIe, PT 7.1 cs6, MacOSX 10.4.3

Thanks for any info!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2006, 05:29 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

i'm seeing this all the time too. i even rebuilt a system from scratch on another partition and it didn't help.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2006, 06:42 AM
ishur ishur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

I couldn't find the previous thread on Rewire causing PT to quit on exit. I just set up rewire to run with BFD, and it works properly but I am getting that message every time I quit PT. Can you point me to that thread, or is there a solution for this problem?

Irwin
__________________
www.irwinshur.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2006, 08:50 AM
songman songman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 691
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=&fpart=1&vc=1


Thread started by Mark Wheaton: Quiting PT7 causes crash.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:31 AM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly


also see this



http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...fpart=1#984271
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:33 PM
KimSira KimSira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

I've got the same problem here as well. For me it seems to happen if I've been using xpand but I also have the Waves ssl bundle demo in my plugins folder that has expired. I think I remember it happenning before the waves demo though. It has expired anyway so I'll ditch it and try to narrow it down.
I know the other day I quit without the 'unexpected quit' message - but I also wasn't using any VI's (xpand) in that session. The only others that I've added lately is the vst wrapper (but took it out again) and Hybrid.

Cheers
Kim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:35 AM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

I am only getting it with Xpand.Can someone at Digi look in to this.Does this type of quit corrupt sessions in any way.Important.





G5 2.5 4 meg ram 10.4.4 Hd3 7.1cs6
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:27 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 526
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

All the time here, as well.

Waves SSL, Waves Tune, Waves Deess RTAS, and using rewire. The "quit" happens even if I'm not using rewire, though.

peace

mixboy

Dual 2.0 PCIe w/ 4.5 GIG, ExpansionHD w/ Core, 1 Accel, 2 Process. OX 10.4.6, PT 7.1cs6.
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD2018.12/Mac Pro Trashcan 6-core, 3.5ghz, 1TB SSD/32GB RAM/OSX10.13.6/Aja T-Tap/HD Native/Apogee Symphony/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/40 channel Blue D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:40 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 526
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

Just read the threads linked above - another common prob appears to be large sessions, with RAM intensive plugs. That sounds like me: 60-100 tracks, 64 SSL Channels + multiple Eventide Factory, ReVibes, EchoFarm, etc.

Don't tell me that this is too much for it to handle!!

Just fishing for help.

peace

mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD2018.12/Mac Pro Trashcan 6-core, 3.5ghz, 1TB SSD/32GB RAM/OSX10.13.6/Aja T-Tap/HD Native/Apogee Symphony/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/40 channel Blue D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2006, 04:24 PM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: PT 7.1 quit unexpectedly

My session yesterday had 4 tracks 1stylus rmx,1 Xpand and 2 Hybrid.Hardly maxing out the system
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quit unexpectedly with 10.3.3 Brandonn Pro Tools 10 4 02-14-2013 06:19 AM
unexpectedly quit? Bryan Cook Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-13-2009 04:03 PM
Unexpectedly quit Han Nuijten Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-19-2006 09:48 AM
PT Unexpectedly Quit MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-20-2003 09:26 AM
PT unexpectedly Quit MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-11-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com