Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2019, 05:55 AM
simondo simondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 63
Default Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

Greetings Pro Toolers

I am about to buy a 2nd hand Mac Pro 2008 I have a choice of OS from the supplier

Anyone know if Pro Tools 9 HD is better on Snow Leopard 10.6.8 or 10.7

Buffer size
Snappyness
etc

or maybe there is no difference
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

10.6.8 -- Lion is useless for PT anyway, bcs you can run PT10 on 10.6.8 but need to be on 10.8.5 for PT11 (Lion not supported)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2019, 12:17 PM
simondo simondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

Thanks JFreak

Just out of interest, why was Lion useless for PT?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2019, 12:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

As said, compatibility-wise it brings nothing to the table. Performance-wise it adds to the bloat so if your computer can run Snow Leopard just go for it until you want to jump to PT11 or later
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2019, 01:44 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

10.6.8 ran much better for PT than Lion....it wasn’t horrible but it wasn’t as solid feeling.

Didn’t run a snappy as 10.6.8.


Now on another note, I did upgrade to 10.7 eventually just to be able to resize my finder windows from any side instead of just the lower right hand corner in 10.6.8.....sometimes it’s the little things
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2019, 02:41 AM
simondo simondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

Thanks for that info Daniel, appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2019, 03:35 AM
simondo simondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

I'll be lucky to get any Pro Tools rig going at this rate. Bought all the hardware but struggling to get a software license at the moment.

Although there is someone with an iLok with 9 and 10 on it who has contacted me so fingers crossed.

Still deciding which OS and version of Pro Tools to use. I have a 10.9.5 Mac Pro already so I could possibly do PT 10 with that system as some have reported that combo works OK but I want stability and snappyness so may be wise to go for a 10.6.8 and 9 or 10 on that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2019, 04:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

Quote:
Originally Posted by simondo View Post
there is someone with an iLok with 9 and 10 on it who has contacted me so fingers crossed
Be sure to have the TOO paperwork done, otherwise you won't be able to upgrade to current version. Without change of ownership your license is sold as-is and works as long as you can use those versions, not any longer.

With that said, and if you have snappiness in mind, why not install OSX 10.6.8 to begin with and look for a PT8 license? In my experience PTHD 8.1.1 is still the snappiest and most stable/reliable PT ever.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2019, 04:15 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,067
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

And as said in this thread make sure it is a HD license on that ilok or any other ilok as your Avid hardware wont work with non HD if you are gonna use HD cards and 96/192 interfaces.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2019, 07:02 AM
simondo simondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leopard or Lion??

Thanks Janne

I am hoping to buy the iLok from a moderator on here called Tom but not heard from him in a couple of days. Hopefully he will get in touch about it tomorrow.

Tom did say that according to iLok the licenses cannot be transferred. So he says he can send the iLok only.

"Without change of ownership your license is sold as-is and works as long as you can use those versions, not any longer."

When you say "not any longer" Janne, what do you mean?

I will not be going past 10 for a long time yet. This is a huge jump for me from 5.1.3 on OS9 straight to 9 or 10 on a Mac Pro.

There are some plugins that I use mainly Soundtoys V4 that only works on PTHD 9 and above. I am looking forward to using the Soundblender plugins on a HD rig as they were my faves on my PT Mix system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
Snow Leopard to Lion stevegalante General Discussion 7 09-25-2012 07:14 AM
From Snow Leopard to Lion... heabow macOS 8 06-06-2012 09:40 AM
PT HD 10: Snow Leopard or Lion? johnnyv Pro Tools 10 2 01-31-2012 10:47 AM
Is pro tools 10 more stable on snow leopard or lion?? craig123 macOS 9 12-14-2011 05:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com