Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2018, 01:59 PM
johnescalera johnescalera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Default protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

S.O.S.

Protools le "8.05" crashes my computer after windows did the update described below...

Any suggestions or insight on this???

Update for Windows 7 (KB2952664)

Installation date: ‎4/‎14/‎2018 1:17 PM

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Important

Install this update to resolve issues in Windows. For a complete listing of the issues that are included in this update, see the associated Microsoft Knowledge Base article for more information. After you install this item, you may have to restart your computer.

More information:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2952664

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2018, 04:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default Re: protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

Trash prefs and try again
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2018, 04:18 PM
johnescalera johnescalera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Default Re: protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

Please elaborate. I'm not sure what you mean by trash prefs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2018, 06:35 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default Re: protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...s-preferences/


I also assume that these have been done

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...-optimization/
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2018, 02:21 PM
johnescalera johnescalera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Default Re: protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

Thank you for the information... Fyi. I ended up un-installing, then re-installing Protools. It still crashed. I for some reason decided to right-click on the shortcut on my desktop, then selected run as Administrator... It started Protools & I was then able to re-validate the installation...

Problem solved...

I don't understand why or how Windows update managed to corrupt only Protools but thanks allot Microsoft...

Thank you again for your input Sir.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2018, 10:07 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,901
Default Re: protools le "8.05" crashes windows update

Starting with Windows 7, its been a standard recommendation to install using the Run as Admin option, and also to set PT to always Run as Admin. There is some question regarding the current versions of PT, but 8/9/10 all are subject to this
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"No Update" showing instead of "Current" in Application Manager jsbach Pro Tools 12 1 01-16-2016 04:54 AM
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 04:42 PM
Pro tools 9 crashes at startup "Bus error" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0 danball macOS 2 09-26-2011 05:49 PM
AV Option 5.3.1 update DOES NOT WORK!!! With ProTools 5.3.1 - "Aborting Init" Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-27-2002 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com