Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-15-2014, 04:25 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: First!!

No 5.1 without HD auth (maybe). No iOS connection at all (duh). Not so excited now. Nice to have Windows, I guess. Confusicated.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-15-2014, 04:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,224
Default Re: First!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by groundcontrol View Post
On one hand they're showing-off the ability of the Quartet to do 5.1 but stressing in the Q&A that the package can only do stereo.

Yes the hardware can do 5.1 but the regular PT software is limited to stereo. You need PTHD for greater-than-stereo.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2014, 10:51 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: First!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Righty27 View Post
Maybe Bruce could chime in and just rule in/out whether these interfaces will be made available without a licence in the not-too-distant future?
Not that I know of, and I would think that unlikely. It's a collaboration between Apogee and Avid, with a bundle price lower than if purchased separately. If you removed the Avid part (Pro Tools) from the product, only Apogee would benefit from sales of the product.

Just my opinion, but I would guess that would be the answer I would get if I were to ask Avid.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-18-2014, 12:04 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: First!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Paine View Post
Not that I know of, and I would think that unlikely. It's a collaboration between Apogee and Avid, with a bundle price lower than if purchased separately. If you removed the Avid part (Pro Tools) from the product, only Apogee would benefit from sales of the product.



Just my opinion, but I would guess that would be the answer I would get if I were to ask Avid.

Thanks Bruce - makes sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com