Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2007, 01:57 PM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 85
Default HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL


Hi,

I have a Protools HD CORE system (HD 1) that I really need to improve.


My computer is a Mac G5, so I cant buy the new HD ACCEL cards because theirs new slots are only for Macpro (at least that is what I was told).

The old HD ACCEL cards are al also very expensive (5.000 dolars at least).


So, I was considering buy an older HD PROCESS card. What I really need to know (anyone can help me?) is the diferences between PROCESS and ACCEL (I know ACCEL is better, but how much?).

Also, very important:

Are HD PROCESS viable on a Mac G5? Are their slots PCI or PCIexpress?


Really apreciate any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2007, 04:13 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,486
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Quote:

Hi,

I have a Protools HD CORE system (HD 1) that I really need to improve.


My computer is a Mac G5, so I cant buy the new HD ACCEL cards because theirs new slots are only for Macpro (at least that is what I was told).

The old HD ACCEL cards are al also very expensive (5.000 dolars at least).


So, I was considering buy an older HD PROCESS card. What I really need to know (anyone can help me?) is the diferences between PROCESS and ACCEL (I know ACCEL is better, but how much?).

Also, very important:

Are HD PROCESS viable on a Mac G5? Are their slots PCI or PCIexpress?


Really apreciate any help.
Hi,

The HD Process cards are PCIx (PCI)

They have only presto chips, where as the accel card has 3 x presto chips 4 x 321 chips with ram and 2 x 321 chips without ram. basically the 321 chips are able to house more plugins than presto chips, expecially on plugs that have been maximized for accel, you can get approx double the plugins on a 321 chip over presto chips. with the right plugins you can get about 80% more processing on accel. then there's the multishell compatibility to consider! but we'll save that for another day.

Some plugins will only run on accel cards especially at 96k.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2007, 04:34 PM
pablotec pablotec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 116
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

For the diference of prices I think that the best option is to buy two Process card for your system, actually only few plugins are exclusively for Accel card (such as Revive).
Respect to power, Accel can charge up 80% more plugins than Process, it´s true, but in the real use is about 40-60% more power, because in the assigments of voices, delay compensation and many plugins there is not diference in both cards (except Accel acepts more voices).

One Accel card is about 2500$, but you can find Process card by 600$ each (you can find on AltoMusic, NY, official dealer of Digidesign).

Your G5 can accept 3 PCI or PCI-X cards (depends of model, single CPU is PCI, and double CPU is PCI-X).
PCI-X accepts 64bit data at 33/66 or 100Mhz
PCI only accepts 32bit and 33Mhz (the conector is smaller)

Both Digidesign cards works with PCI or PCI-X, but you can obtain more bandwith and voices with PCI-X
Your Mac do not accept PCI-e format!!

With this configuration, you will obtain a HD3 Process machine, 27DSP for your mixing (for DAEengine, voices, delay compensation and plugins TDM).

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:02 PM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 85
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Thank you very much for the information.


How many voices could I reach exactly, do you know? For now I have a maximum of 48 only.

And sorry, I thought that PCIX and PCIe both meant pci express. What is PCIe then?

Once more, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:03 PM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 85
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Thank you very much for the information.


How many voices could I reach exactly, do you know? For now I have a maximum of 48 only.

And sorry, I thought that PCIX and PCIe both meant pci express. What is PCIe then?

Once more, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:29 PM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

only PCIe is PCI Express. PCI-X is just PCI-X. Very unfortunate and confusing choice of names and abbreviations.

Also, not all G5's are PCI-X. The last few models before the Mac Pro came out were PCIe.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2007, 06:19 AM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 85
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Thanks for the info,



But what´s the diference then between PCI and PCI-X? Are they the same thing?

Could I reach the maximum of 96 voices buyning a HD process cards as with Hd accel?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2007, 06:19 AM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 85
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Thanks for the info,



But what´s the diference then between PCI and PCI-X? Are they the same thing?

Could I reach the maximum of 96 voices buyning a HD process cards as with Hd accel?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2007, 07:22 AM
JSR JSR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 472
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

HI,

Your best bet is to buy a additional HD Accel card to make your system a HD2. HD Accel cards retail for $5000, but you can easily find one for less then $2000. I just bought an additional one for my system for $1800 yesterday on ebay, and there were more there at or around that price and all PCI.

Here are the links (don't know how long they will be good for):

http://cgi.ebay.com/Pro-Tools-HD-Acc...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Digidesign-Pro-T...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Digidesign-Pro-T...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Brand-New-Digide...QQcmdZViewItem

Best,

JSR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-2017, 11:56 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: HD PROCESS Vs. HD ACCEL

Amazing to see how far we have come in 10 years....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Process Card Question... Accel vs non Accel gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-22-2013 02:51 PM
process to accel hd2 pie55 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 03-09-2012 09:54 AM
Problem populating HD 4 accel + Process + Process Brandonx1 Post - Surround - Video 6 07-15-2010 05:40 PM
hd process and accel process in same machine? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-01-2006 08:51 PM
HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel Exch Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-20-2004 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com