Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2004, 07:34 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel Exch

I realize this may be getting old as I remember watching/reading these events unfold in this very forum. I didn't make the jump to Accel from my current HD3 system(I was an early adopter of HD from my previous Mix3 system)the first time around in part because my Control 24 had some issues which unfortunately put the board out of commission for a while-during the first exchange period. Throughout all of this, Digi Tech Support was just amazing(Thanks again Mark and Vicki!!!).

I was surprised as I'm sure most of you were to see it's return. I'm also very surprised(understatement...) to see the current exchange program for Mix users wishing to go to Accel. When I compare the Mix3 to HD Accel3 price to that of trading in 2 Process cards for 2 HD Accel cards I find that the difference is around $1,500.00. I would assume the "value" of the HD Process cards are worth more than the value of the Mix Process cards(no offense to you Mix owners....). And I realize the HD Process to HD Accel exchange does give you the Impact plug-in.

So, does that mean the HD Core card's value is only around $1,500.00?? It's seems(almost..) that the Mix to Accel Exchange is a much better deal than the HD Process to Accel Exchange is. Plus I believe the Mix trade-up also includes free plug-ins. Wow!
I'm beside myself. I realize the Exchange program offered by Digidesign is a great thing for it's users who wish to upgrade to the lastest technology offerings(myself included) and I realize some see it as a way of protecting your/our investment. I'm just having a hard time understanding how my HD3 system has depreciated below that of a Mix3 system. Unreal......
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2004, 07:44 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel

The depreciation is supply/demand. Digi no longer supplies Process cards, and no one wants them (especially for ADC, since with a Process card you can kiss half of your voices goodbye). Digi no longer supplies MIX hardware, but people who already have MIX know that the only way to expand is a MIX Farm, so they are in demand.

I think one of the reasons the upgrade offer for MIX users is so good is because Digi had to eat their words, swallow their pride, and admit that they lied when they said MIX would work with the G5. Also, there are some individuals, to whom I will refer to as them, that don't know how to say no to krack. By including free plugins, people who don't know how to say no to krack can get their fix legitly (if their addiction happens to be available as a free plugin in the exchange bundle they are interested in).
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2004, 02:54 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 348
Default Re: HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel

Quote:
<snip...> When I compare the Mix3 to HD Accel3 price to that of trading in 2 Process cards for 2 HD Accel cards I find that the difference is around $1,500.00. I would assume the "value" of the HD Process cards are worth more than the value of the Mix Process cards(no offense to you Mix owners....). And I realize the HD Process to HD Accel exchange does give you the Impact plug-in.

So, does that mean the HD Core card's value is only around $1,500.00?? It's seems(almost..) that the Mix to Accel Exchange is a much better deal than the HD Process to Accel Exchange is. Plus I believe the Mix trade-up also includes free plug-ins. Wow! <snip>

Remember Armando, that there's no such thing (right now) as an 'Accel' HD Core Card... so when upgrading an HD3 to accel, you're really only swapping out the two process cards for Accel Process cards. I should really look at the numbers so I can relate to what you're talking about... I just thought I'd add that point for clarity.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2004, 05:18 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Re: HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel

Yes, that's true but remember, I did the "original" Mix3 to HD3 exchange. My 1-Core and 2-Process PCI cards are dated/out of warranty period. Not meaning that my cards will have issues anytime soon but the Mix folks who will be upgrading to Accel get 1 to 3 brand new "virgin" cards complete with a 1 year warranty, as it should be but I took that into account when comparing the differences in value of both exchanges. As I said in my original post, this is a fantastic package/value exchange for all those Mix system users who wish to go HD. It's a no brainer.


__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Process Card Question... Accel vs non Accel gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-22-2013 02:51 PM
Problem populating HD 4 accel + Process + Process Brandonx1 Post - Surround - Video 6 07-15-2010 05:40 PM
hd process and accel process in same machine? blumediaprojekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-01-2006 08:51 PM
HD Process to Accel exchange is back Vaphoron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 31 05-05-2004 11:24 PM
Thank you for the "NEW" HD to Accel exchange agradl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-03-2004 03:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com