Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:11 PM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 601
Default Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

So I have one of the older '07 MacPros that can do Lion but not Mountain Lion. I'm still holding at Snow Leopard. I just found out that I can still get Lion from Apple if I want to. Question is, do I want to? I have zero experience with Lion.I DO have Mountain Lion on another machine here, but not running PT on that one.

So there's my basic question. Are ther any pros and/or cons to moving to Lion 7.4 from Snow Leopard? Will I regret it? Love it? Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2013, 01:18 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,562
Default

I think the only pros that were related to pro tools going to lion for me ah well let's just say there weren't any I didn't notice any significant difference

Now outside of ProTools two big differences that I found really helpful were resizing the finder window and searching from the address bar inside of Safari

That's it
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2013, 02:01 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 938
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricWillhelm View Post
So I have one of the older '07 MacPros that can do Lion but not Mountain Lion. I'm still holding at Snow Leopard. I just found out that I can still get Lion from Apple if I want to. Question is, do I want to? I have zero experience with Lion.I DO have Mountain Lion on another machine here, but not running PT on that one.

So there's my basic question. Are ther any pros and/or cons to moving to Lion 7.4 from Snow Leopard? Will I regret it? Love it? Anyone?
For me the main reason was iCloud which needs 10.7 to work. I updated (had to update) after they shut down MobileMe last year.

Beside that no benefit but also no disadvantage.
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.10.5  Pro Tools|HDX 12.8.1  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013, 02:07 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,921
Exclamation Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Apple should continue to release security updates for Lion until the successor to Mountain Lion ships. Any security holes in Snow Leopard are likely to go unpatched.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2013, 03:53 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,170
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricWillhelm View Post
So I have one of the older '07 MacPros that can do Lion but not Mountain Lion. I'm still holding at Snow Leopard. I just found out that I can still get Lion from Apple if I want to. Question is, do I want to? I have zero experience with Lion.I DO have Mountain Lion on another machine here, but not running PT on that one.

So there's my basic question. Are ther any pros and/or cons to moving to Lion 7.4 from Snow Leopard? Will I regret it? Love it? Anyone?
I HATED LION. So much that I just erased it and went back to Snow Leopard. Seriously, just use a $20 bill as a kleenex or toilet paper, it will be better use of it.

I can't think of any advantages it has over Snow Leopard, just a lot of drawbacks, the most annoying being the lack of "Save As". Yes, there's no "Save As". What stupidity possesed them to remove a command that is as essential to using a computer as the power button is beyond my comprehension. Instead, apple though it would be more convenient for you to "Duplicate", and then rename the duplicate.

They got smart in ML, and bought back the Save As feature. I have both a ML and SL partition now, but I still spend most of my time on SL. I will probably move to ML permanently eventually, but I just haven't had enough time for it to prove itself yet.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2013, 04:06 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post

Beside that no benefit but also no disadvantage.
What he said ^^^^
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:31 PM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 601
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
the most annoying being the lack of "Save As". Yes, there's no "Save As". What stupidity possesed them to remove a command that is as essential to using a computer as the power button is beyond my comprehension.
I thought they just renamed it 'DUPLICATE'. Wasn't that the deal? Or was the functionality of DUPLICATE different also?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:12 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

Duplicate, Unlock etc.... new forms of access to "save as" if written into the app.
Most power apps like Pro Tools retain the save as menu path.

Cloud calendars was my incentive. I still run most my systems at 10.6.8.
Zero in 10.8

As with most versions of OS-X, I turn off many features like dashboard, spotlight for media drives, F keys OS features not primary..... (nor recommended in Pro Tools install guides).
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's HD12.8.2 MacOS 10.13.1 (Avid HDX-1)
(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)(AMD HD 7950-3gb Mac edition 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (still the easiest way for poly recording)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound, Production-Enhancements.
----
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:04 AM
mickelini's Avatar
mickelini mickelini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 44
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

I just upgraded from 10.6.8 to 10.7.5. I was getting stuck notes when using Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, and I heard this would remedy that situation. So far, so good.

I upgrade only when I need to.
__________________
Website
Mac Pro 8-Core 2.26 GHz // 22 Gb RAM // OS 10.7.5 and 10.9.2 // MBox 2 Pro // PT 10.3.8 and 11.1.2 // Many VIs and Effects
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:55 AM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 299
Default Re: Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could?

i use SL ,and its a rock.....i ain't going NOWHERE......at this point in my busy life, the LAST thing i need is for my basic tools to stop working.
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
snow leopard or lion for PT 10.3.7 queemacarthur Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 11-04-2013 10:12 AM
Upgrading PT 8 on Snow Leopard to PT 10.3.6 / 11 on Mountain Lion simonwild Pro Tools 10 Discussion 2 07-12-2013 06:14 AM
Best version of PT 10 for Leopard and Mountain Lion b mcgibney Pro Tools 10 Discussion 1 04-12-2013 12:06 PM
Question about updating from Snow Leopard directly to Mountain Lion... stpete111 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 09-18-2012 04:47 AM
From Snow Leopard to Lion... heabow Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 06-06-2012 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com