Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2015, 01:27 AM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Windows sound in background.

I can't get any windows sounds to play while Pro Tools is open, be it youtube, music etc. Is there something that needs to configured to allow this?

I'm using asio drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2015, 11:41 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,117
Default Re: Windows sound in background.

To get the best help, you need to provide information on your system! At the moment, all we know is you are on a Windows computer What interface are you using? Does the computer have its own sound card and output? As convenient as it seems, running Windows sounds(youtube, WMP, etc) thru the interface can cause problems and/or hardware conflicts. I recommend you have Windows use the onboard sound card as its default audio device. You can choose to connect some computer speakers to that(assuming you have some studio monitors connected to the interface for recording/mixing). If you just gotta have everything come thru the same speakers, a monitor/source selector is a great solution, but a "budget" solution would be to feed the outputs of the interface and the sound card to a small stereo mixer(Behringer, Alto, etc). All it takes is some cables and a mixer with at least 2 stereo input channels(Behringer covers this for about $50)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2015, 02:13 AM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Re: Windows sound in background.

System specs:

Asus Z97-A Mobo
Intel i5 4690K oc'd at 4.284 GHz 1.215v,
Corsair H80i Gt cooler,
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400 Mhz 8gb
Seasonic X-660KM PSU
EVGA GTX 970 oc'd to 1450Mhz core clock, 3800Mhz memory (for some games)
Corsair Obsidian 450D case
Win 8.1

I'm using onboard audio (Realtek) and headphones. I'm using the ASIO4ALL as an interface.

I've googled and found out that ASIO4ALL has exclusive access to the soundcard there by disabling other audio apps. It continues to say that to fix this issue you would require a proper audio interface.

Can anyone explain how a interface makes multiple audio sources available?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2015, 03:11 AM
kol12 kol12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default Re: Windows sound in background.

I decided to uninstall ASIO4ALL for testing purposes and use the realtek driver as the output for Pro Tools. Unfortunately I'm faced with the same problem with not being able to playback windows sounds at the same time as running Pro Tools. Rather frustrating as I'm wanting to go through a Pro Tools video tutorial..

I came across this link, maybe it could be the work around?
http://odeus-audio.com.au/Odeus/AsioLink
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2015, 11:06 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,913
Default Re: Windows sound in background.

I would highly recommend getting a separate interface with proper ASIO drivers and dedicating that to Pro Tools only and using your onboard sound card as the default for Windows sounds/audio.

On Windows and with PT 11 and up, you will have issues if you try to use the same interface for both PT and Windows sounds/audio.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound in Windows 7 Zergei72 Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 01-09-2015 08:08 AM
Windows 7 Background services Caatalyst Pro Tools 10 2 08-31-2014 08:34 AM
Eucon Windows BUG: some windows r stuck in background when Eucon running. TuckerMix Artist Series 12 07-08-2014 02:37 PM
Searching for sound effect of TV in background lavanzee Post - Surround - Video 8 03-31-2007 02:54 PM
No More Windows...just my blue background! Jake001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-02-2004 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com