Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:49 AM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 585
Default Re: HD Native '64bit Mixer Resolution'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
what that translates to is 32 bit floating just like pt le.
Actually no it doesn't, the above mentioned linked post is a reply from an Avid representative so as he says HD Native uses a 64bit floating point mixer so the summing is done in 64bit floating point. The 32 bit processing would be the plug-in bus mixer (inserts are 32bit float between interconnects same as LE). This isn't a deal breaker, it removes the need for dithering until the final output back to 24bit & the mixer has higher precision & headroom than PT LE so this is a good thing.

As in LE the RTAS plug-ins can still be 64bit internal processing it just means between each plug & connecting back into the summing mixer it's reducing word length to 32bit float.

A confirmation on these finer details from Avid would still be nice but it's pretty clear that the summing mixer is 64bit float from the Avid linked reply.
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-12-2010, 06:04 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: HD Native '64bit Mixer Resolution'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
I
So it's possible I could be wrong, but all this points to there being nothing unusual about this software, other than the 8.5 update to make it compatible.

But as someone mentioned, it would be nice to have the official word.
THere is no official word because they intentionally left new features out of the literature.

This is 8.5 we're talking about. 8.1 was said that it will be for HD only, and was only really implimented so HEAT and the new I/Os could be used now. I'm pretty sure we'll see an 8.5 for LE, but we won't see 8.1 LE.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 64bit DSP and Native midnightsun Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 07-21-2013 03:58 AM
PT 9 Native mixer resolution? nikki-k Pro Tools 9 2 11-15-2010 07:44 AM
Is PT8 64bit native? And how much RAM can it address? Hercules Pro Tools 9 21 11-12-2010 11:37 AM
pt hd native a 64bit solution clemens Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-07-2010 08:09 AM
Native VGA resolution Mike K VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 10-06-2006 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com