Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2015, 12:54 PM

Default Upgrading from 11 to 12 with a student discount?

Just wondering how that scenario works since every things going over to subscription.

Right now I have Pro Tools 10+11 with the student discount. I was wondering how upgrading to 12 worked? Am I able to do it with a discount or is everything just a flat subscription now?

Edit: After doing some more reading I'm wondering if I even need Pro Tools 12? Im a student using Pro Tools exclusively for In the Box production, the cloud won't be of much use to me. Seems like I already have everything I need with Pro Tools 11 without having to pay an ongoing fee? Track freeze would be nice but I wouldn't want to add a continuous fee just for track freeze.
Old 02-10-2015, 01:05 PM
Avid

Default Re: Upgrading from 11 to 12 with a student discount?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
Just wondering how that scenario works since every things going over to subscription.
Subscription is being added as an alternative. We are continuing to sell 'perpetual' licenses as we have been doing all along.

Quote:
Right now I have Pro Tools 10+11 with the student discount. I was wondering how upgrading to 12 worked? Am I able to do it with a discount or is everything just a flat subscription now?
The EDU section of the FAQ should cover this:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/F...2014-Offer-FAQ

Regards,
JC
Old 02-10-2015, 05:42 PM

The bigger question is if a student decides not to pay the 99.00 upgrade to 12 before 13 comes out, how much would it be to upgrade from 11 to 13?