Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2020, 01:55 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 844
Default Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Please, make this a sticky.
Every time you transpose MIDI, Pro Tools sends out a MIDI Note On.
Whether it is drag in MIDI editor or a command with event operations.
Please fix that.
It is impossible to use MIDI with this "feature".
This must be so easy to fix it will take less than 30 seconds as it must be an instruction to send out a MIDI Note on after a transpose operation. Just delete that line in the code.
__________________
iMac Pro - HDX2 - Mojave - AVID HD I/O x5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2020, 03:42 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,023
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Hi

Avid are aware of this since a way back and we will see a fix when they are done fixing it. Stickies are not for bug purposes but for fixes, tips and workaeounds Etc and announcements but not for bug reporting.

Will make sure Avid techs get the memo again though.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2020, 08:56 AM
Geoff Grace Geoff Grace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Do you happen to know whether they are also aware of the longstanding MIDI Event List editing problems? The last bug-free version was 2019.6.

Best,

Geoff
__________________
Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2020, 10:20 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Grace View Post
Do you happen to know whether they are also aware of the longstanding MIDI Event List editing problems? The last bug-free version was 2019.6.

Best,

Geoff
Avid is aware of the MIDI event list bugs. Their tech people were able to replicate the bug according to the support ticket(s) I raised with them last year. They gave no ETA on a possible fix. Sadly I doubt they are capable of fixing the bugs and even more sad that they don't care about fixing them.


As far as the subject of this thread I've noticed it but it doesn't bother me. I rather like that it sends out a note on as you then have some kind of confirmation that the operation actually happened (without having to look at the notes).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2020, 04:12 PM
Geoff Grace Geoff Grace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Avid is aware of the MIDI event list bugs. Their tech people were able to replicate the bug according to the support ticket(s) I raised with them last year. They gave no ETA on a possible fix. Sadly I doubt they are capable of fixing the bugs and even more sad that they don't care about fixing them.
Thanks for your reply, Jack. I'm glad for your confirmation that they're aware of the problem.

Sadly, I realize that creating awareness doesn't equate to creating a fix. I'll hope that your judgement that they aren't capable and don't care is wrong. Unfortunately, the evidence so far—one year down the road—only supports your conclusion.

Best,

Geoff
__________________
Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2020, 05:24 AM
ibbod0 ibbod0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firechild View Post
Please, make this a sticky.
Every time you transpose MIDI, Pro Tools sends out a MIDI Note On.
Whether it is drag in MIDI editor or a command with event operations.
Please fix that.
It is impossible to use MIDI with this "feature".
This must be so easy to fix it will take less than 30 seconds as it must be an instruction to send out a MIDI Note on after a transpose operation. Just delete that line in the code.
did you try clicking this button in the attached image? does that not do what you want?
Attached Images
File Type: png playmi.png (18.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Gigabyte Z97X-UD7 TH / Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz / G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB / Samsung 850 Pro SSD / WD Blue 1TB HDDs / Audient iD14 / running Pro Tools 2020.9.1 on Windows 10 1903
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2020, 10:18 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,709
Default Re: Make this a sticky. MIDI Transpose bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibbod0 View Post
did you try clicking this button in the attached image? does that not do what you want?
It does - it turns off all editing feedback, though, which may or may not be desirable. I'd go crazy without that feature enabled, and am amused that someone considers it a bug. I'm quite sure it's not, actually. A bug is not a feature that bugs you, it's an unintended consequence of the programming.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.9.1 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.9.1 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Transpose Q? akhafaji Pro Tools 12 3 12-12-2016 02:59 PM
request to moderators to make PT Prefs thread a sticky Pete Gates macOS 2 03-12-2014 08:22 AM
Petition - Make PT Performance A Sticky - Plz Read davec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 12-02-2005 08:32 PM
Petition - Make PT Performance A Sticky - Plz Read davec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-30-2005 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com