Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2020, 02:43 PM
paulschwotzer paulschwotzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 29
Default MIDI note editing issue

Question on MIDI note editing... I don't see a specific category for MIDI.
Often when I'm editing MIDI notes (moving around, quantizing, deleting) I see that several nearby notes are split into two notes by a change that I made. I then hit Ctrl-Z to undo changes until the split-up notes are re-formed to their original length... as ONE note.

Does anyone know what causes this and how to avoid it?
I suspect I have some edit setting selected and am unaware of it.
I will attach a picture of an edit window with an undesired split note.
The long-ish note should be one note instead of one long and two short.
Attached Images
File Type: png MIDI_Edit_Snafu.png (14.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2020, 04:39 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: MIDI note editing issue

PT version?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2020, 04:52 AM
paulschwotzer paulschwotzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: MIDI note editing issue

I'm running Pro Tools 20.5.0.207 on a Mac with Catalina.
I see there is a newer version that I will install.
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing MIDI note timing causes major CPU Load mbahnmil Windows 3 03-31-2012 04:41 AM
Editing note in Looped Midi Regions tele27 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-31-2011 07:03 AM
8.0.4 MIDI note duration change when editing Shanti Monkey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-27-2010 01:56 AM
midi note editing aldoriba Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 11-22-2007 12:21 AM
Probably an easy one..MIDI note editing question electrocat MIDI 4 06-10-2005 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com