Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2020, 10:02 AM
spiritG spiritG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 179
Default NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Iam posting here because there may be other TDM system owners like me who use a few Native Instruments RTAS plugins, even if everything else is TDM.

Native Instruments is discontinuing authorizations/reauthorizations for RTAS products.

Access to older project may not be possible.

If you need to access any projects or libraries with Native Instruments RTAS plugins (or anything on Mac’s before OS 10.9) you won’t be able to authorize anymore.
You will not be able to reauthorize in the event of CPU change or failure, or disk failure or corruption.

Did anyone receive emails to the account you have Native Instruments software registered to stating that you would no longer be able to authorize NI or libraries dependent on Ni on any system prior to 10.9?
(I didn’t, even though I have multiple accounts).

Which means products they sold just 6 years ago and before will not be activatable on systems the products were specified for.

I have multiple systems with different projects and libraries that won’t be able to reauthorize in the very possible event of a cpu or hard drive failure. That is in addition to not being able to authorize products and libraries that haven’t been authorized yet.

Also even now I have not been able to get “Service Center” to “connect” to Authorize on Mac G5’s. And evidently “offline” activation was previously stopped by Native Instruments.
And disk cloning isn’t retaining authorizations, to which NI just says “...bad news.”

If someone knows how to get service center to authorize my backup G5 systems I would really welcome the help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2020, 06:26 AM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 394
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

i did last month as i migrated to Mavericks (10.9.5) after years of Snow Leopard + Mountain Lion.

this is a major issue and hated it


your only way is to copy the user folder on a separate HDD and in case you'd have to do a clean install is to use the apple migration assistant program and select apps as well as general user's settings.
Just make sure you make a clean install of all apps before so you really will have a brand new system.
Use the migration assistant after that only.
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 32Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2020, 09:27 PM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 458
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Hi,

I am bumping this as I have a similar thread here and its not getting much response either.

Can anyone at least recommend a good way to get ahold of product / tech support for NI?


Thanks,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2020, 03:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyduck View Post
Hi,

I am bumping this as I have a similar thread here and its not getting much response either.

Can anyone at least recommend a good way to get ahold of product / tech support for NI?


Thanks,

mightyduck
Fuhgeddaboutit - NI support is about as useful as mammary glands on a male bovine. Even when you can get in touch with them they no precious little about PT. A few years back I asked them a question about their plugins and AudioSuite and they had no idea what AS was. Their forums are slightly better though.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2020, 12:33 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 394
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

the only possibility i see is, in case that plugin isn't available on download from their website, is to ask them a link


now if you need to reinstall that pluging the only way is what i wrote earlier : osx clean install and using the migration assistant of the mac after having copied on other HDD your user folder
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 32Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2020, 01:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
the only possibility i see is, in case that plugin isn't available on download from their website, is to ask them a link


now if you need to reinstall that pluging the only way is what i wrote earlier : osx clean install and using the migration assistant of the mac after having copied on other HDD your user folder
Only if the newly installed OSX is compatible with the plugins. Migration Assassin is one of the worst ideas Apple ever came up with. Actually NI stopped supporting RTAS support years ago. Also to counter something someone said earlier OSX clones DO keep their authorizations.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2020, 05:31 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,999
Default NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Also to counter something someone said earlier OSX clones DO keep their authorizations.
Most will, but definitely NOT all. Been through it a few times.

It depends on what’s being used as the hardware ID. It also gets compounded if you’re using the clone on another machine.

Either way, there may be some software that will require re-authorising.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2020, 06:03 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Most will, but definitely NOT all. Been through it a few times.

It depends on what’s being used as the hardware ID. It also gets compounded if you’re using the clone on another machine.

Either way, there may be some software that will require re-authorising.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'll not dispute that. The strangest ones are stuff from Arturia. Sometimes my clone will pick up the auth and sometimes not but the original is okay. And this is on the same machine. This is why I LOVE iLok licensing - as long as my iLok is ok I'm good to go.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2020, 09:40 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,584
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Hi,


Just haad to do a complete reinstall of everything but this time on Mavericks due to UAD compatibilty issues with Mountain Lion.


Must have done near 100 products that i have purchased over the years! and most have been ok, even some of the difficult instruments and various packs have been doable with a bit of work...


BUT i come to Native Instruments and well, just forget it. More chance of getting blood from a stone. must have invested around £1000 in this company and trying to re auth them is just impossible. I can't even download their Mavericks compatible Native Access app. the link takes me to google drive and says unable to download due to too many downloads




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2020, 10:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: NI Discontinue Authorizations RTAS

Abandonware
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NI stops RTAS authorizations, Native instruments discontinues service center spiritG Pro Tools 10 6 05-28-2020 11:40 AM
Extra Long Delay - Why Avid did you discontinue ??? john1192 Pro Tools 11 13 04-05-2015 09:18 PM
When did they discontinue the mBox Mini Gen3? SKI FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 4 06-19-2013 06:17 PM
Avid are you going to discontinue the 002?? Violet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-04-2010 09:17 PM
Digi 001 discontinue djwilmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2003 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com