Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2020, 08:10 PM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 20
Default Vocal recordings result in lame volume

I am on an iMac Pro (2017) using Catalina Osx. I just upgraded to Pro Tools 2019.12 but this problem existed before I upgraded to vs 12.

I use an Apollo UAD2 thunderbolt interface, and I use either an NPNG preAmp or a Great River preamp for my vocals.

My vocal takes seem fine when I record; the wave form looks healthy and everything seems ok. But when I play it back, I have to max out the fader to get any real playback volume.

At first I thought I had broken my microphone somehow. Then I tried different mics and it happened elsewhere too....

Note that this however, can be Intermittent. Sometimes the vocal take shines through. But it's unpredictable it seems.

I've tried changing mic chords, changing XLRs, using different preamps...

If anyone has a clue, I do appreciate any help or suggestions. The mics I use are an AEA R44CE and a Microtech GeFell GMBH. These are top notch mics and that's why this is kind of bewildering.

Thanks for any assistance, Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2020, 08:45 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,727
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

Hi that sound really strange indeed and you got a great gear there. Sound to see like something happening at the Apollo level. Please check the separated console app. Maybe the problem is there, is really hard to tell cause is a strange issue but you can start there.
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2020, 10:36 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightbelt View Post
I am on an iMac Pro (2017) using Catalina Osx. I just upgraded to Pro Tools 2019.12 but this problem existed before I upgraded to vs 12.

I use an Apollo UAD2 thunderbolt interface, and I use either an NPNG preAmp or a Great River preamp for my vocals.

My vocal takes seem fine when I record; the wave form looks healthy and everything seems ok. But when I play it back, I have to max out the fader to get any real playback volume.

At first I thought I had broken my microphone somehow. Then I tried different mics and it happened elsewhere too....

Note that this however, can be Intermittent. Sometimes the vocal take shines through. But it's unpredictable it seems.

I've tried changing mic chords, changing XLRs, using different preamps...

If anyone has a clue, I do appreciate any help or suggestions. The mics I use are an AEA R44CE and a Microtech GeFell GMBH. These are top notch mics and that's why this is kind of bewildering.

Thanks for any assistance, Frank
Yikes! That sounds strange to me also.. Maybe use another setup and test out the parts individually?
Also, maybe just try another mic and see if it is better.. Something cheap with phantom power on of course. I think one is a ribbon, which should be pretty easy to sort out.. They usually have a lot of spf. The other condenser seems like it should work like an AKG 414, which I would compare the level with.
I think it must be something with the pre maybe? I have found it's always something fundamental with the is overlooked.. I have done silly things sometimes and had to laugh when I figured it out..
Good luck.
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.9 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2020, 07:55 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 777
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightbelt View Post
My vocal takes seem fine when I record; the wave form looks healthy and everything seems ok. But when I play it back, I have to max out the fader to get any real playback volume.
At first I thought I had broken my microphone somehow. Then I tried different mics and it happened elsewhere too....
You could also check if you haven't inadvertently increased the size of the waveform, so it looks nice and fat, but is actually small in reality. Have you checked your meters from the source?
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2020, 07:29 PM
RamiHashash RamiHashash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

It sounds like you are double monitoring. So you’re listening to two signals while you are recording, signal from UA console and Signal from ProTools.
You need to mute you’re record armed track in ProTools. Monitoring only from UA’s console.
Set levels accordingly and hit record.
Playback listening to ProTools track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2020, 01:30 PM
DeviceP DeviceP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

Hi I have returned to pro tools after years off to start a new project. Running the latest version of pro tools on my 2019 MacBook pro with catalina. When I try to record vocals I get almost no sound in the mix. I first tried on my Shure SM58 and when I couldn't get any sound I switched to the Audio-technica AT2020. If I turn up the gain on the Focusrite I barely get any sound but lots of hiss. Same for modifying the clipping in the mix. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2020, 03:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,394
Default Re: Vocal recordings result in lame volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeviceP View Post
Hi I have returned to pro tools after years off to start a new project. Running the latest version of pro tools on my 2019 MacBook pro with catalina. When I try to record vocals I get almost no sound in the mix. I first tried on my Shure SM58 and when I couldn't get any sound I switched to the Audio-technica AT2020. If I turn up the gain on the Focusrite I barely get any sound but lots of hiss. Same for modifying the clipping in the mix. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
Hi Welcome to DUC.

It's not clear anything you are doing has anything to do with this thread. A lot more info would help...

What interface are you using? Are you using an onboard or external preamp?

What *exact* input is the mic plugged into with what exact cable/plug on the end of that cable... (accidently connecting to a line level input is a common cause of these issues)

What is the preamp gain set to? Does it adjusting that have any effect.

Input pads are disabled?

Is phantom power turned on for the AT2020?

If the interface has hardware monitoring get that to work first without Pro Tools to confirm the mic and cables etc. are OK.

If that does not work try the SM57 again and/or check phantom power is present at the end of the cable with a voltmeter and/or try a different cable.

Then in Pro tools... Make sure the track meter is in pre-fader mode and you have the correct input selected on the track... default I/O if necessary. Make sure you are using an audio track.

Ask if anything is not clear here.

---

Oh looks like a 2i2.. so you have to go into the one of the front panel XLR combo inputs but you *have* to use an XLR plug, not a 1/4" plug. make sure the pad is disengaged, gain turned up on that channel. Without using Pro Tools confirm direct monitoring works to headphones or monitors. All that is covered in the 2i2 documentation. No Pro Tools involved yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My vocal recordings are very quiet..,. SayKriDD FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 10-08-2013 02:12 PM
Bizarre Tones in Vocal Recordings colinseven8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-31-2012 03:18 PM
MIDI-volume edits result in hard crash... Arno Peeters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2006 03:24 AM
Vocal production : who knows how to get the result voorzorro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-16-2003 04:13 AM
What's a good vocal mic for live recordings? matt vallo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-06-2003 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com