Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 09-06-2020, 07:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
So just to be clear, you actually think that Avid intentionally and secretly trying to screw their paying customers is a more plausible explanation?

Wow…
Yes
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-06-2020, 08:19 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
So just to be clear, you actually think that Avid intentionally and secretly trying to screw their paying customers is a more plausible explanation?

Wow…

Double wow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-06-2020, 09:37 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 330
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Yes
triple WOW
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2020.9.1, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-06-2020, 09:52 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 392
Default Re: 2020.9!

Is Pro Tools the only DAW with 2 versions, Standard and Ultimate? Seems to me they ought to do away with that model.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-06-2020, 09:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Is Pro Tools the only DAW with 2 versions, Standard and Ultimate? Seems to me they ought to do away with that model.
Nope, Steinberg also has Cubase and Nuendo. But PT actually has three, there is also free version called First
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-06-2020, 09:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: 2020.9!

Not to mention they used to have Express, SE, M-Powered when they had HD and LE, but with that said PT has been several editions since year 2000 when they introduced the LE line of hardware.

Before that it was only one PT with full software features, and limitations coming from hardware. It was too expensive for most, which is why there was many editions. I understand the HD/LE separation but all other editions IMO have been nonsense.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-06-2020, 10:20 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 392
Default Re: 2020.9!

Oh right, good history lesson! I do remember that when I came over to PT from Logic and DP that there were all those versions. M-Powered, I had that for a little while.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-06-2020, 10:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: 2020.9!

Almost forgot that back in the day there was 8-track PT Free as well
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-06-2020, 10:38 AM
Geoff Grace Geoff Grace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Not to mention they used to have Express, SE, M-Powered when they had HD and LE, but with that said PT has been several editions since year 2000 when they introduced the LE line of hardware.

Before that it was only one PT with full software features, and limitations coming from hardware. It was too expensive for most, which is why there was many editions. I understand the HD/LE separation but all other editions IMO have been nonsense.
Don't forget about Pro Tools Project (né Session 8).

That was my entry point in 1994, although I had already used other people's systems going back to Sound Tools. I bought Session 8, spent another $1,000 for a whopping 1 GB hard drive, and popped for the first version of Emagic Logic Audio, which was the only sequencing + audio software that supported Session 8 hardware. (If I recall correctly, I had the 882 I/O.)

I was very pleased when Digidesign scrapped its Session 8 software and gave us Pro Tools Project a year later. I could finally do Pro Tools edits at home instead of going into the studio.

For anyone who wants to get better acquainted with the evolution of Pro Tools, there's a pretty good overview at Pro Tools Expert:

The History Of Pro Tools

Best,

Geoff
__________________
Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-08-2020, 02:38 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Nope, Steinberg also has Cubase and Nuendo. But PT actually has three, there is also free version called First
First is a training tool and marketing release. It's not particularly usable for anything outside occasional hobby use or educational. I think it's a great idea but not a release that can be used on any sort of comprehensive project. At that point were one trying to write deliverable art they may be better off with GarageBand.

Cubase in and of itself have five versions. For $100 someone would be better served to buy Cubase Elements and be done with it. If you have to be format compatible with Pro Tools that doesn't offer anything but neither does First. Logic is only $300 for a perpetual license.

Regardless it's good to see First working on Catalina now.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Avid Control App Rollback (2020.5 to 2020.3) budster Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 06-09-2020 11:01 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com