Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2013, 05:06 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Hello everyone,

I've been using a Mojo for many years and have grown very tired of the issues I've had with that particular unit. I recently purchased a Black Magic Deck Link Mini Monitor. Very inexpensive and sexy little card with an HDMI output.

Well, being an audio engineer and much less of a video engineer I mis interpreted the writing on the box that states that it:

"operates with both compressed and uncompressed video, so you're not locked into a single codec quality"

After about an hour or so of reading the manual and noticing that NONE of the movies on my system would play through the card, I called Black Magic. The tech support person I got was pretty shifty when I told him I was using Pro Tools. Frankly, Pro Tools was one thing, but the program that came with the card wouldn't play any vids either. I managed to get out of him that it only would play back uncompressed 10bit 4:2:2 Quick Time files.

So, if that's true, then I have to make a 200GB file for every 1 hour show I work on? YIKES? How do all of you other Deck Link users manage your workflow? Do you make uncompressed 4:2:2 quick times? Is there any other option?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2013, 05:31 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Alright, NONE of the movies I make with Mpeg Streamclip work, not even the one made with the Black Magic 10bit RGB codec. I've also made 10bit and 8bit uncompressed QTs as well.

Anone have a clue what gives?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

I've used the MultiBridge with Pro Tools, it can be resolution sensitive (low rez 16:9 gets center cut to 4:3) but did not have problems with codecs but we mostly used photo-jpeg

You did check the option: Video Out PCIe
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:47 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
I've used the MultiBridge with Pro Tools, it can be resolution sensitive (low rez 16:9 gets center cut to 4:3) but did not have problems with codecs but we mostly used photo-jpeg

You did check the option: Video Out PCIe
Oh yeah, I did check that option. I'm most curious why the Black Magic Media Express program won't play any file but the test clips that came with the installer disc.

There has to be something I'm overlooking.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:47 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 277
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

We have the Decklink Studio which has the same instalation apps as yours and are using it with PT10 on MAC without any problems. We usually use Apple Pro RES quicktime video files and they play normally. And they are not by any means uncompressed either, so itīs strange that the tech gave you that info.

Did you install the Desktop Video software that came with the card and contains all the QT codecs?

Do you have installed QT 7 on your computer? Protools needs it to play video from the timeline, as the Mojo that you were running is not present anymore.

Are you on MAC or PC?

By the way, did you enabled the PCI video out in PT instead of firewire?
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2013, 07:25 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
We have the Decklink Studio which has the same instalation apps as yours and are using it with PT10 on MAC without any problems. We usually use Apple Pro RES quicktime video files and they play normally. And they are not by any means uncompressed either, so itīs strange that the tech gave you that info.
That's exciting to hear

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Did you install the Desktop Video software that came with the card and contains all the QT codecs?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Do you have installed QT 7 on your computer? Protools needs it to play video from the timeline, as the Mojo that you were running is not present anymore.
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Are you on MAC or PC?
Mac 10.7.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
By the way, did you enabled the PCI video out in PT instead of firewire?
Yep

Thanks for the help. Maybe I'll call back tomorrow and hope for a different guy.

So far the only codec that will play out of Pro Tools is Apple component video YUV422. Looks great and is very responsive. Boy I hope I don't have to spend an hour transcoding video just to use this card.

Last edited by actualsizeaudio; 06-19-2013 at 08:25 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2013, 08:08 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

A question for Paulo: Do you have FCP installed on the machine you run PT on? I do not. Only Mpeg stream clip and QT7pro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2013, 06:00 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 277
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Quote:
A question for Paulo: Do you have FCP installed on the machine you run PT on? I do not. Only Mpeg stream clip and QT7pro.
No, FCPīs machines are connected on our Isis 5000, but not installed on the same MACīs as PT.

We have installed the Perian codec pack. Although they donīt give support anymore you can still download the installer: http://perian.org/

We also installed the AVID codec packs which are free to download too:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en423319 (please check if thereīs a new updated version)

On the MAC, check which codecs are installed under quicktime, itīs always useful to know whatīs installed to troubleshoot issues.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2013, 06:04 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 277
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Just forgot to add one thing. Enable QT 7 to be your default player on the MAC and not QT player X. Failure to do this makes PT use the lighter version(X) which doesnīt have all codecs as QT 7.

We are running Mountain Lion. Any chance you can upgrade from your 10.7 MAC OSX or do you have any compatibility issues that prevnt you to do that?

Which version of PT are you running? I assume that you have the CPTK also.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2013, 12:12 PM
actualsizeaudio actualsizeaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Just forgot to add one thing. Enable QT 7 to be your default player on the MAC and not QT player X. Failure to do this makes PT use the lighter version(X) which doesnīt have all codecs as QT 7.
I went through with a utility program and made QT7 the default player for all of the file types I saw were associated with QTx. Not sure if there is another way to do that, or a way within Pro Tools.

I already have Perian installed. I followed that link for the Avid Codecs and installed them, did not help. I did receive an H.264 from a client today that played in the timeline! Completely out of no where really. I tried all of the vids that I was trying to get to work yesterday and none of them worked. This is truly a mystery. I wonder if when Pro Tools 11 comes out, and PT has the same video engine as Media Composer if this will get a lot easier. I'm wondering if it could be a size issue since the card only has an HDMI out. Maybe no SD size vids will ever work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
We are running Mountain Lion. Any chance you can upgrade from your 10.7 MAC OSX or do you have any compatibility issues that prevnt you to do that?
I'm in the middle of a few projects, so I would prefer not to right now. Will do that soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Which version of PT are you running? I assume that you have the CPTK also.
I do have the CPTK running 10.3.5 I also have my system running under an HD license with no hardware (how I plan on running 11).

The help is very appreciated. - Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 video and MXF files using Black Magic cards paulo m Post - Surround - Video 5 08-19-2013 05:50 AM
PT 8.03, Black Magic and SL? houser Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 06-18-2010 09:45 AM
Black Magic Intensity & HD Video Codecs mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 7 01-26-2010 01:52 PM
Black Magic Intensity and PT8 New Hope Media 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-27-2009 12:17 PM
Black magic video sync s0und80y Post - Surround - Video 2 05-09-2007 03:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com