Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:07 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor

Hi,

I am wondering if there is a possibility in Pro Tools to perform an edit that I loved about the Fairlight:

When your edit cursor is before a region/clip and you would like to enlagre (or trim) this following region up to the cursor on the Fairlight you could press a key and it would do that.

In Pro Tools I manually roughly trim the region/clip and then perform "A" (trim start), but maybe there is an easier way and I just waste my time....


Ollie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2012, 07:40 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor

I just drag the trim tool (keyboard shortcut 'F6') in either slip or grid mode.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2012, 02:32 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor

Only command I can think of is Edit (menu) > Trim region > Start to fill selection. For that to work, there has to be a selection that includes a portion of the region you want to trim.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2012, 12:56 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Re: Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor

PT Lover you are my hero!
Just what I was looking for. Is there a key command for that?

Ollie
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:29 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor

Quote:
Originally Posted by @tention View Post
PT Lover you are my hero!
Just what I was looking for. Is there a key command for that?

Ollie
On Mac, you can make your own key command in the system preferences. I have done that for a lot of menu items in Pro Tools.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot to Edit Cursor from Clip List ... ptfigg macOS 2 03-01-2014 08:53 AM
edit cursor view -simple UI question End Over End Windows 1 09-05-2011 01:22 PM
edit problem with cursor skwad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-12-2005 12:55 PM
Edit Cursor? No really.......... bonneybear Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-12-2004 09:22 PM
moving the edit cursor up and down Harvey51 Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-13-2001 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com