Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2010, 06:12 AM
Zownd Zownd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Leiderdorp
Posts: 227
Default Anyone switch from 8core to 6core

I have an older 2008 model 8-core 2.8

Will going to six cores in the newer mac running at 3.33 get the same amount of plugins? (or more?)

the reason for going 6core 3.33 is that all other operation will be faster, even faster then a 12 core.

thanks for reading and maybe your ideas.

cheers,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:51 AM
writeroxie writeroxie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 129
Default Re: Anyone switch from 8core to 6core

Hi Mark,
This may not help at all, but after installing PT 9 I did the Dverb test on my Mac Pro - which power-wise seems to sit between the two machines you're comparing. Here are my results:

Protools 9
Mac Pro 2x 3ghz Xeon Intel (8 cores total) w/8g RAM
Snow Leopard 10.6.4
DIGI002R
Dverb score: 272 (on 6 cores)
Dverb score: 325 (on 8 cores)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2010, 10:57 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Anyone switch from 8core to 6core

With the same chip speed, using fewer cores will produce a lower result. However, using fewer cores at a higher rate may improve the results. It all depends on the speed.

I picked the current 6 core over the 8.

8 X 2.4 = 19.2
6 X 3.3 = 19.8

Your older model may produce similar results but the RAM and internal bus are faster in the 2010 model. However, I would not expect a vast improvement.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac Pro – 8core-16 gigs of RAM verse 6core-64gigs of RAM toolgirl macOS 58 01-26-2014 01:32 AM
6core/12thread i7 worth it? kocha Windows 4 05-23-2012 03:52 AM
Mac 8Core & PT8HD /10.6.3 ? PMoshay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 06-27-2010 11:27 PM
Mac 8core 2.8 gHz Harpertown 16-32 gig RAM vs. New 2.66 gHz Nehalem with 8-16 gig Ram abenkori 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 08-27-2009 09:44 AM
New Mac Pro 8core! koka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-21-2008 07:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com