Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2013, 08:16 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

It's a given that PT11 requires iLok2, but I'm wondering if the dual PT10/11 asset can reside on a v1 iLok, and authorise PT10 only?

I ask because it's unlikely I'm going to be able to get my hands on an iLok2 for a week or so, and need to be able to continue working in the mean time (PT10, until PT11 is released).

If the dual asset must reside on an iLok2, is there a time limit within which one must surrender the PT9 license, and replace it with the dual PT10/11 asset?

If I register my PT10 purchase today, but don't synch my v1 iLok, and surrender PT9 for a week or two, is that a problem?

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2013, 08:34 AM
kazuomik kazuomik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...90#post2028290
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazuomik View Post
I have just activated "Pro Tools 10 Upgrade from PTHD 9" authorization code.
At my avid.com account, the following was added:

Pro Tools HD 11.0 Upgrade from PTHD 9
iLok id: ******** 04/11/13
Licenses: Pro Tools HD 11 Bundle
Please visit www.ilok.com to retrieve your licenses!

I downloaded the license to my iLok,
"Pro Tools HD 9 Bundle" license was surrendered, and the following license was added:

Pro Tools HD 11 Bundle Avid Bundle Hide
Pro Tools 10 Avid License Never
Pro Tools 11 Avid License Never
Pro Tools HD 10 Avid License Never
Pro Tools HD 11 Avid License Never

So, remaining is, when Pro Tools 11 being released,
to download the installer, to install it,
then I should be able to use Pro Tools HD 11 immediately.


Even though I own HD hardware,
I believe this process itself is not related to HD hardware ownership at all.
This iLok license is in my old iLok (not iLok2), and it is working with Pro Tools HD 10.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2013, 08:48 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

Carl, if I understand it correctly, you should be able to register the activation code, have the new licenses sent to your Ilok account, but don't actually download it to a physical Ilok yet (which is where the surrender actually happens). This should work fine, but I'm not from Avid, and hopefully they will chime in here.

So basically it would just stay in your Ilok account in limbo until you download it to your Ilok.

At the time you finally do that, I guess you would need to move the existing license from your v.1 Ilok to the v.2 Ilok, and then do the surrender process.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2013, 09:31 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

It's fine to have it on a v1 iLok.
10 will run, 11 won't...but 11 isn't even out yet, so no big deal

When you get a v2, just move the license to the v2.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2013, 12:00 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

Thanks guys, looks like I should be ok whether I choose to surrender the PT9 license now, or just register PT10, and wait for PT11 / my iLok2 - whichever arrives first.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ejwells View Post
It's fine to have it on a v1 iLok.
10 will run, 11 won't...but 11 isn't even out yet, so no big deal

When you get a v2, just move the license to the v2.
Yeah, I just didn't want to find my self in a situation where, because the asset is a combined PT10/PT11 license, and because PT11 requires iLok2, that the asset would refuse to synch with a v1 iLok - even though PT10 only required a v1 iLok.

Maybe I'll risk it tonight, and earn my own Red Badge of Courage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2013, 12:10 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Thanks guys, looks like I should be ok whether I choose to surrender the PT9 license now, or just register PT10, and wait for PT11 / my iLok2 - whichever arrives first.





Yeah, I just didn't want to find my self in a situation where, because the asset is a combined PT10/PT11 license, and because PT11 requires iLok2, that the asset would refuse to synch with a v1 iLok - even though PT10 only required a v1 iLok.

Maybe I'll risk it tonight, and earn my own Red Badge of Courage
I Sync. Therefore I am.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2013, 12:12 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

It's kind of like Slate or Eventide assets....you can put them on a v1 iLok, but they won't authorize the software unless they're on a v2.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2013, 12:52 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejwells View Post
It's kind of like Slate or Eventide assets....you can put them on a v1 iLok, but they won't authorize the software unless they're on a v2.

Well, I pulled the trigger, and my only regret is not jumping on PT10 the moment it was released.

Nice to see the PT11 asset sitting there too. I'm already 70% more attractive to the opposite sex!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-02-2013, 04:56 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,244
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

? You may need to move the PT's 9/10 bundle to the ILok 2 prior to surrender for 10/11 bundle.(?)
Simple and free task if they're all in one account.
Slate digital come up with some iLok deals when getting their products.
Don't know what's current there though.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both.

Pro Tools U-2020.9.1 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)
Third boot 2K19MP 10.15.6

(2k10MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition-dual mini 6 pin. one spliced to add Avid mini 4 pin-hdx)
FW-CoreAudio (for poly-recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds / upkeep / +
----
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2013, 05:07 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: @ Avid : Dual PT10/PT11 iLok asset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Nice to see the PT11 asset sitting there too. I'm already 70% more attractive to the opposite sex!
PT11 is a known Babe magnet.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 iLok License Open PT10? rmccam Pro Tools 11 3 04-17-2013 07:45 AM
FS: PT10 iLok Asset BCnSTL Buy & Sell 6 03-19-2013 02:44 PM
PT10 iLok Asset for sale adflaker Buy & Sell 10 03-10-2013 10:44 AM
FS: PT10 iLok asset ejwells Buy & Sell 1 03-08-2013 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com