Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2015, 01:18 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 500
Default Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

...some 10 years after it was released?

I randomly started watching some of Digidesign's videos about it. Holy moly!
Whoever claimed that it was just a 'big mouse' is an idiot. It is more akin to turning a Protools DAW into a very nice digital mixing console.

Does the S6 even compete? It seems like it would be a hard task to create something so in-depth with additional improvements.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Protools HD Ultimate 2018.3. Antelope Zen Studio. Mac Pro 5,1 12core 3.33Ghz, 32Gb. SSD system drive + 4 audio HDD. OSX 10.12.6.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2015, 02:46 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,434
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

Me too.....same here.

Looked at a C|24 and then decided no, the new CS's are way out of my price range. The D Commands are still where it's at....super flexible from what I understand
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2015, 03:35 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

D-Commands, especially the ES black version are supported by Avid up to August 2018. Diginet is the control protocol, so it won't be going away too soon. Avid are going Eucon for control and consoles like the S3 and S6 will benefit from ongoing updates. Don't forget that the ye olde Pro Control kept going up until PT10HD, so one hopes that Icon consoles will still be working for quite some time.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-support-dates
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2015, 08:50 AM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 710
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

I could not mix without my D-command.
Except if you give me an S6

S6 looks more powerful to me with version 2.0 and great things are coming on it.
But i can't justify that money for a control surface.

I love the way i can mix with my D-command, the big plus being automation controls and VCA spills and custom faders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2015, 09:05 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,944
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

Reading this is now making me want one !!!! I to have been looking at the C24
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2015, 05:03 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,478
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

8 years in, still going strong.

As for S6? Waiting for MKII.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2015, 06:07 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,434
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

How much did it run you drew? 15k
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2015, 06:10 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,478
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
How much did it run you drew? 15k
I got a great deal from my GC Pro rep combined with a generous Pro Control trade-in from Avid. I think I paid approx $10.5k
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2015, 08:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,434
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

Hey that is a good deal considering it's been so long, man they just look like the Cadillac of controllers compared to the Pro Control I'm currently using
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2015, 06:40 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,478
Default Re: Is it bad that I am lusting after a D-Command...

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Hey that is a good deal considering it's been so long, man they just look like the Cadillac of controllers compared to the Pro Control I'm currently using
Yeah, my GC Pro rep rocks and Avid has ALWAYS been great about taking trade-ins over the years.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 01:15 PM
D Command PT9 Bug hitp ICON & C|24 1 12-08-2010 10:20 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 06:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 02:44 PM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com