Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2020, 03:27 PM
freeBase freeBase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 52
Default Dock & S3 (ethernet) / iPad & Internet (WiFi) Connectivity Problems

I'm having some serious connectivity issues with my setup. I'm currently working out of a facility (not my own) that has some limitations in regards to internet connectivity (I can only connect via wifi). The problem is, whenever wifi is on, my Dock and S3 aren't found in EuControl. At my usual studio, everything is hooked up via ethernet cables (except for the iPad), but here I have to leave the wifi on my computer enabled which then causes issues in EuControl.

Current setup:
Dock ethernet plugged into B port on S3. S3 A port plugged into Ethernet 1 on Mac Pro. iPad running Avid Control connected via WiFi and computer connected to internet via Wifi.

Question:
what's the proper configuration to make this setup consistently connect and function.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2020, 09:00 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,243
Default Re: Dock & S3 (ethernet) / iPad & Internet (WiFi) Connectivity Problems

While there is a way to achieve that, I have a similar system and recommend connecting the iPad directly to the Mac with the camera kit Lightning/USB adapter, ethernet adapter, and if necessary, Thunderbolt>ethernet adapter. It seems complex, but once setup, it's rock-solid.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2020, 10:10 AM
freeBase freeBase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Dock & S3 (ethernet) / iPad & Internet (WiFi) Connectivity Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
While there is a way to achieve that, I have a similar system and recommend connecting the iPad directly to the Mac with the camera kit Lightning/USB adapter, ethernet adapter, and if necessary, Thunderbolt>ethernet adapter. It seems complex, but once setup, it's rock-solid.
Thanks for the reply. If I get the iPad hooked up via ethernet, I'll still need to use wifi for internet. Will there still be an issue with that? Or is it simply all the EuControl surfaces need to be on the same wired network?

I was playing around last night with various configurations and it seems as though the facilities wifi settings are wreaking havoc on any network connected AVID devices. DadMan lost connectivity as well until I turned off the wifi.

Can anyone let me know how I can get the network configured to not interfere with the Avid device connectivity?? I don't have the option of not using wifi for internet, but I obviously can't have my AVID devices not work either. There has to be some sort of network setting I can use to make everything work together.

Eddie???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2020, 08:00 AM
freeBase freeBase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Dock & S3 (ethernet) / iPad & Internet (WiFi) Connectivity Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
While there is a way to achieve that, I have a similar system and recommend connecting the iPad directly to the Mac with the camera kit Lightning/USB adapter, ethernet adapter, and if necessary, Thunderbolt>ethernet adapter. It seems complex, but once setup, it's rock-solid.
So I purchased a Belkin lightning to Ethernet adapter for the iPad since I got absolutely ZERO useful reply from Avid (here and on tech support ticket) on how to configure the network... problem is now that the iPad doesn't fit into the Dock anymore, the lightning connector sticks out too far and hits the plastic where the knobs are. What a junk show!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi connectivity causing SLOW Plugin Loads Barranca Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 7 09-28-2020 05:50 PM
S1: WiFI vs Ethernet Networks JingleDjango Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 05-07-2020 01:15 PM
iPad Pro, Pro Tools Dock, ethernet connectivity issue? rbeggs Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 4 05-08-2019 07:36 AM
How to run EuCon over Ethernet while accessingInternet over Wifi? opiante Artist Series 9 12-17-2017 11:18 PM
Controlling 11R via iPad and Wifi adamqlw Eleven Rack 4 01-11-2012 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com