Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:02 PM
healthybounce healthybounce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on this???

I'm trying, in extremely frustrating vain, to install and run ProTools LE 7.0 on an intel-based Mac running OSX 10.4.11....obviously it's no good.

Can somebody tell me what exact version of ProTools I need to run on an Intel-based OSX 10.4.11 system...

That's all I need to know

I've been on the standard digidesign 'compatibility' pages all day...it's just leading me in circles...nothing specifically addresses my combination of ProTools vs. OS. It says that 7.1 and earlier won't run on 10.4.11...Ok, I've already encountered that...but which one WILL???

Will the standard 7.3 work with intel/OSX/10.4.11...??? Do I need 7.4...?

This information needs to be much more PRESENT before people commit to a version that's NOT compatible.

and I'm not 'upgrading' from any version...

Why is this so mind-numblingly complicated...I ran an LE 6 series version on my old iMac for several years with no trouble
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:13 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on this???

7.1.1 is the oldest version that will run on an Intel Mac. But no version is officially supported for 10.4.11. 10.4.9 is the most recent that is Digi certified. Although a lot of people report 7.3 and 7.4 running perfectly on 10.4.11. Most have downloaded the Pre-Binding Script that fixes a few issues. Not 100% sure if 7.1.1 will work, but 7.4 is worth the upgrade for $75 and can be purchased and downloaded right from the Avid Store on Digi's site. I suggest it!
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:20 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on this???

p.s.- this is pretty well marked:

"Pro Tools LE 7 for Intel-based Macs Pro Tools LE 7.4 (003 Factory, 003 Rack, Mbox 2 Pro, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, Mbox 2 Micro, Mbox, Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack) are officially supported on Mac OS X 10.4.9 for Intel-based Macs Pro Tools LE 7.3 &7.3.1 (003 Factory, 003 Rack, Mbox 2 Pro, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, Mbox 2 Micro, Mbox, Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack) are officially supported on Mac OS X 10.4.8 and 10.4.9 for Intel-based Macs Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 (Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox 2 Mini, Mbox) and Pro Tools LE 7.1.3 (Mbox 2 Pro) are officially supported on Mac OS X 10.4.6, 10.4.7, and 10.4.8 for Intel-based Macs
Pro Tools LE 7.1.1 and 7.1.3 will not install or run on PowerPC-based Macs, and Pro Tools LE 7.1 and earlier will not run on Intel-based Macs"

found on the OSX Requirements page... scroll down to Pro Tools LE 7 for Intel-based Macs

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=22904


Also a main reason why you were able to run PT 6 for so long is because Apple was a lot slower at releasing OS updates which made Pro Tools a lot more stable. And if you choose to keep your operating system version the same for the next two years and also your PT version, you could run on a single version of the software for as long as you want. If Digi doesn't update their versions and make things better, than what's the point? Do you have your auto software updater on? or did the Mac you bought come with 10.4.11 pre loaded.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:20 PM
healthybounce healthybounce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on thi

Thank you so much for the info...in more detail, can I download the 'upgrade' even though I currently have no version of ProTools on my computer currently...is it like, actual Install software...or do I need an existing version of ProTools for it to 'upgrade' from?

(ie...I don't have to buy 7.1.1, then upgrade to 7.4 do I?)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:29 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on thi

it says Full Install, so I assume you can load it with no version preloaded. Actually now that I think about it, you have to Uninstall any previous version anyway, so you'll be all set.

The actual upgrade part is for 7.3 owners, which is like $49 bucks. You need the $75 Full Install download.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:30 PM
healthybounce healthybounce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on thi

It came pre-loaded w/ 10.4.8...but 7.0 wasn't working with that...I never use autoUpdate, but selectively upgraded to 10.4.11 to see if that would work.

Does Digidesign offer a straight download clean-install version of 7.4 (or does one even exist)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:43 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.4.11...Intel Based...WHAT VERSION runs on thi

as I just stated, the Full Install for $75 is a clean install. I guees I should not have thought out loud using my keyboard, and just said it this way. My bad.

Also if you haven't gone too far, back your system up and use you install discs to revert back to 10.4.8. I think that is the best OS version to run PT's off of. Super Duper! is a great backup software. Reverting is a pain, but you will have a Digi certified setup if you do so. I guess you can try loading PT's and running on 10.4.11, see what happens. Also did you use the Combo Updater or did you use the Software Updater to update to 10.4.11. You must always use the Combo Updater for Intel and never use the Apple's Software Updater. Here is the link, I would suggest downloading it and installing it if you choose not to reformat your computer back to 10.4.8.

http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...dateintel.html

And then run the Prebinding Script which can be found on the link I gave above for OSX Requirements. Also read this troubleshooting thread, and then start reading through everything you can on Digi's support pages. All of this info is in there.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...fpart=1#313423
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI I/O and Intel based NASAUDIO MIDI 0 02-05-2008 04:06 PM
Upgrading to LE 7.3 for Intel-based Mac dwdrmmr13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-09-2007 06:10 PM
What's the last version of PTLE that runs the 001? merwin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-23-2005 08:23 AM
Latest Pro Tools LE version that runs on MacOS 9? efernan1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-20-2004 07:15 PM
Which version of DP runs best w/ 002R, OSX, G-5?? R Mauleon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-29-2004 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com