Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2019, 03:58 PM
JPro80 JPro80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Default Punch In Recording Level Changes

I am recording in Pro tools 10 with a firewire 800 Apogee Duet and recording an acoustic guitar (one track DI and one track Mic) whenever I punch in the waveform and volume is much larger. I have talked to many persons including avid and they cannot fix the problem. It is on a Mac Book pro, no plug ins, very straight forward. When I do punch in I have to massively reduce the clip gain to match levels. No pre amp or input level raise between takes the volume and wave form simply go up with no reasoning at all. Don't pay attention to the plug ins on the photo those have been removed too-still happening for no reason.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-10-29 at 2.56.12 PM.jpg (44.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:08 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: Punch In Recording Level Changes

This might sound too obvious but, are you sure you are at the same distance from the mic on every take?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2019, 11:22 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 523
Default Re: Punch In Recording Level Changes

How much are you having to reduce clip gain on the punches?

Just a thought, but are you playing along with the track before the punch in? Almost every musician and vocalist I've worked with tends to play louder when they are hearing playback and not themselves in the headphones. then when the punch in happens, the volume and energy of the performance doesn't match, with the punch in being louder.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2019, 05:57 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Punch In Recording Level Changes

Do you have separate playback and record faders setup?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording level vs playback level.. DigiDudeski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-04-2009 06:00 AM
Punch-in recording? GloryIsSilent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-17-2009 10:43 PM
punch in recording mastermorris Tips & Tricks 2 12-02-2005 03:23 PM
Does anyone still use punch-in recording? RobN General Discussion 7 07-16-2005 06:33 AM
Punch in recording d_matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-08-2003 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com