Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2002, 12:50 PM
IK_Jason IK_Jason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 345
Default Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Guess what, we are coming out with a OSX version of Amplitube that is going to be a complete stand alone solution.

Other AT details soon...check the website.
__________________
Jason Williams / Technical Support
IK Multimedia U.S. Division
Email: jason.williams@ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2002, 03:40 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,047
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

For what?
Using it like a real amp?
With how many ms of latency?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2002, 05:17 PM
IK_Jason IK_Jason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 345
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Latency is controlled by the audio interface buffers and cpu speed.

You can play AT like a real amp if you want to. You can write with it, change presets etc.
__________________
Jason Williams / Technical Support
IK Multimedia U.S. Division
Email: jason.williams@ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2002, 05:21 PM
cleft cleft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 135
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

How will it work with ProTools? Will it still be available as a plug-in? As I still like to track my guitar dry and audition it via a plug-in with my other instruments from within ProTools.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2002, 08:00 AM
IK_Jason IK_Jason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 345
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Cleft: It wont need to run in PT, it will be a stand alone product which means it runs by itself.
__________________
Jason Williams / Technical Support
IK Multimedia U.S. Division
Email: jason.williams@ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:01 AM
unclemurray unclemurray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 447
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Why would anyone on the protools bulletinn board want to run it by itself and not in protools? I mean, it's still going to use CPU cycles, isn't it?
__________________
=============================
Doug
Studio 1011
http://www.1011productions.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:32 AM
Steve Rieck Steve Rieck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 110
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Jason,

Amplitube is truly remarkable and fun, probably the best $299 I ever spent. It would be fun to play it at live gigs, but I wonder what having a mac onstage instead of a marshall might do for the image?

Any news on the MOTU version? When can I download it from my user area on the amplitube website? I assume it will support OS9, What DP versions?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:33 AM
John H John H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Northwest England
Posts: 809
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

I see this as just the start of the IK stuff moving to OS X. I'd bet we won't see sampletank 2 till it's fully OS X native. I hope so, I'm getting one of the sampletank LE tone modules for christmas!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2002, 11:33 AM
jpoprock jpoprock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 730
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

Jason,

A stand alone unit...I see. But this has NOTHING to do with the RTAS Amplitube software for PT right? That is a whole different deal I'm assuming. When PT goes OSX, I'm sure you'll roll out the OSX version for PT right? I'm holding off on buying until PT goes OSX.

Jason II
__________________
Leo 10.5.7
PTLE 7.4.2, 002r, Micro
iMac G5 2.33ghz Core Duo Intel
OWC External FW HDD
http://www.soundclick.com/jasonsheroan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2002, 11:37 AM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month

I tend to wonder how many more people would actually use the OSX version if it were an RTAS plug in. I'm sure there will be some people using it as a stand alone unit, but I'd like to know the ETA on an OSX RTAS version. Any thoughts? Will the OSX version take advantage of dual processors, and will it make a significant difference in performance?

dave patterson / knobville
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 is here..... well, next month anyway ronwasserman Pro Tools 11 12 04-08-2013 05:53 PM
New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore? Violet General Discussion 11 08-09-2010 01:47 PM
When is Amplitube for MAS coming? Steve Rieck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-29-2003 10:27 AM
Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month. IK_Jason Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-14-2002 03:10 PM
Stand back! IBM Power4 coming through! Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-08-2002 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com