Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2007, 02:02 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,208
Default Digi 003 Exchange progarm...

Just saw this on the Digi site.

Exchange Your Third-Party DAW or Pro Tools LE System to the Power of 003

Got all excited as I have been thinking about moving from my 002R to an 003R to get wordclock. Problem is I already own the Music Production Toolkit and it's tied to the exchange deal. To exchange to an 003R would cost me $1,045.00 and stick me with a bunch of extra software I've already purchased from them once. Doesn't do me any good at all.

Maybe they could tweak the program for past faithful customers...
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:28 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,987
Default Re: Digi 003 Exchange progarm...

Yeah, even though the 003/003R has word clock, there aren't a lot of incentives for 002/002R folks to trade in their existing system. It doesn't make good financial sense at this time. Is word clock worth the money to trade? You're probably better off buying a new 003R and keep the 002R for back up, as a second rig, or for mobile work.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 11.2.3 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:19 AM
robertallen robertallen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Digi 003 Exchange progarm...

When I saw the 003R for the first time, I was amazed, until I looked on the back of the device and tears of joy became tears of sorrow. I was really hoping for more inputs, honestly. Having 8 mic inputs to record with simultaneously would be wonderful! Maybe my wish will come true with the 004. I'll just get a Presonus for more inputs. BUT I'd be lieing if I didn't say I wanted the 003 Rack just to have the latest thing. But NEED > WANT currently in my world (unfortunately).

Anyways...I decided to edit this post after I saw the numbers, and I'm a bit confused....

Is the RED price actually what you pay AFTER you trade your 002 Rack into Digidesign? It's showing you pay $1,045 AND your 002 Rack for a new 003 Rack. If that is the case, then you're basically only getting $200 back for your 002 Rack, and to me that's not a good deal.

If you're entertaining this idea of upgrading, you can sell your 002 R on EBay. I'm seeing over $600 for used 002R's on EBay. Sweetwater sells the 003 R for $1,200...so you'd wind up only having to pay $600 for the device upgrade.

Unless I'm wrong about the red number on 003 Rack upgrade/trade-in on Digi's web site, I'd suggest the EBay option.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2007, 02:29 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Digi 003 Exchange progarm...

Quote:

Anyways...I decided to edit this post after I saw the numbers, and I'm a bit confused....

Is the RED price actually what you pay AFTER you trade your 002 Rack into Digidesign? It's showing you pay $1,045 AND your 002 Rack for a new 003 Rack. If that is the case, then you're basically only getting $200 back for your 002 Rack, and to me that's not a good deal.

If you're entertaining this idea of upgrading, you can sell your 002 R on EBay. I'm seeing over $600 for used 002R's on EBay. Sweetwater sells the 003 R for $1,200...so you'd wind up only having to pay $600 for the device upgrade.

Unless I'm wrong about the red number on 003 Rack upgrade/trade-in on Digi's web site, I'd suggest the EBay option.
That's the price including the Music Production Toolkit. They are forcing you into buying it to take part in their "exchange program". In my case I already paid for it once. It lists for 499.00 but can be found on e-bay for around 350.00.

I am NOT going to pay them twice for it.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 192 Hardware exchange to I/O? Firechild Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-11-2011 08:25 AM
digi 002 factory to 003 rack exchange blueleaderone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-29-2009 12:07 PM
Digi Exchange Program... Sparky1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-28-2006 05:07 PM
Digi Hardware Exchange.. not sure how it works?! mannikin General Discussion 3 09-07-2004 10:13 AM
Digi 002 Hardware exchange prices posted citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 33 08-11-2003 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com