Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:36 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Sample rate problem

I received 10 songs as Pro Tools sessions at 48KHz, 24 bit, aiff. I have a 001 clocked to ADAT from my digital mixer, the Panasonic DA7. The first song, I recorded the vocals with the clock on the DA7 set to 44.1 instead of 48. All other songs are fine, because I caught the problem after the first song.

The question is: The vocals sound chipmunked on that first song when I set my DA7 clock to the proper 48K setting. When I use Rail's header utility to change the header to 44.1 on the vocal files, they stretch out of time. So, they were recorded as 48K files clocked to 44.1. How do I salvage these vocals?

I am using version 5.2.1 on OS9 and 6.1 on OSX 10.2.8. Thank you.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:44 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Sample rate problem

The audio data is actually 48kHz inside the files -- you should change their sample rate in the header then import them into a 48kHz session so the sample rate and sound files' data match.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:16 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Sample rate problem

Thanks, Rail. I did change the files to wav, then changed the header to 44.1. Then I imported them into a 48 KHz session, and they were in tune, but way too slow. The header already says 48K, so at this point, the sample rate and session sample rate do already match. I tried importing with and without SRC, and neither straightened out the problem. Am I missing a step? It's not possible to have the singer re-sing the parts because they are about 1,200 miles away. Thanks...
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:21 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Sample rate problem

Aah.. so you had a 48 kHz session with audio recorded at 44.1kHz.. you'll need to create a 44.1kHz session and change the headers to 44.1kHz

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:22 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Sample rate problem

Is there a mac utility for this? OS9 and/or X?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:06 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Sample rate problem

So...I changed the headers all to 44.1, and created a new session at 44.1. The vocals are in tune, but they are slower than the original session.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2005, 07:42 PM
britwrap britwrap is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 20
Default Re: Sample rate problem

You will need to set up to your original session specs, everything set exactly as it was recorded. Record analog out to another device. Rerecord back into ProTools at 48Khz. This will solve your speed and sample problems. A situation thaat occurs easily but is a bitch to resolve.

good luck,

brit
__________________
gonna paint with the colors I've got
brit warner, CAS, MPSE, AMPS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:07 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Sample rate problem

SoundHack is free.

If you changed the sample rate in the headers to 44.1kHz and imported the audio into a new 44.1kHz session (without converting), then the sound files will play back at the correct speed if the original external clock was set to 44.1kHz.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help: Sample rate problem crazytracy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-04-2008 08:19 AM
Sample rate problem please help! sixxxstring 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-23-2008 07:08 AM
Sample rate problem Dr.Marv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-16-2008 03:10 PM
Bit Rate/Sample Rate problem? The chipmunks? bspro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-17-2008 05:40 PM
sample rate problem. Help! Ryan Butler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-07-2007 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com