Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:16 PM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Posts: 36
Default AMDX2 Jerky meter and counter behaviour solved!

Hi all,

After upgrading to a very fast and efficient dual core PC (not to mention expensive!), I was pretty disappointed to find that Pro Tools was not performing as it should. The meters and counter displays were jerky and out of sync with the music being played. I also suspected that the MIDI behaviour was also suffering because I noticed that some of my MIDI'd outboard gear was not running as smoothly as it had before. However Microsoft have released a hotfix for this problem and it applies to Windows XP SP2. The hotfix is relevant to nearly all AMD64 X2 dual core processors. I installed the hotfix (and completed the necessary regedits) and now everything runs very smoothly. Problem fixed. I thought I'd let others on the Forum know of this fix. I found it here:

http://www.amdzone.com/modules.php?o...ticle&sid=3964

I am running a PC with the following relevant components:
AMD64 X2 4800+ dual core
Asus A8N-SLI motherboard
2 x SATA Raptor 10,000 rpm drives
1 GB of Corsair DDR RAM
Leadtek GeForce 6800GS video card
Delta 1010 Audiocard

Now...time to get recording and mixing!

Regards,

Dave
__________________
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:31 AM
alexkbd alexkbd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: AMDX2 Jerky meter and counter behaviour solved!

Dr Dave you have made my day!!

Finally - working midi and nice smooth meters...

Great detective work!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:32 PM
vtmaestro vtmaestro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: AMDX2 Jerky meter and counter behaviour solved!

Yes this fix and regedit worked for me too!!!!! I love my new Athlon x2 System!!!!


Athlon 64 x2 3800
ASRock 939 Dual-Sata Mobo
2 Gig DDR 400 Ram
Digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:37 PM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Posts: 36
Default Re: AMDX2 Jerky meter and counter behaviour solved

Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad to have helped by pointing some people in the right direction. It makes a HUGE difference to the AMDx2 machines when running Pro Tools. Let others know!
__________________
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserts affecting send meter but not channel meter? Kbrinson85 Windows 1 05-01-2012 07:00 AM
Main counter mode not switching using "counter" switch bashville ICON & C|24 2 08-07-2009 04:07 PM
Strange DAE and EA Behaviour(Solved) Kris75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-01-2007 05:58 PM
SOLVED>>Need HELP, SUPER ASAP.< audioindo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 04-21-2007 05:43 AM
HELP! Jerky Meters, Counter, and Scrolling evanbrubaker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-10-2001 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com