Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-17-2006, 08:31 AM

Default midi tracks \"stutter\" on playback

Midi tracks "stutter" when playing back. Sounds like a bad drummer. Input Quantize is on. I have quantized and re-quantized to no effect. This is very suttle but definately happening. Identicle sessions play back correctly on my other computer.

This is a new Pro Tolls Free installation on OS 9.2.2 G3. I have been using Pro Tools Free for about 3 years without problem on another G3 computer, OS 9.1 (I think). This is frustrating because I just found this used computer with 40 GB hard drive. Perfect (I thought) for Pro Tools Free. I formatted the drive and installed the OS myself and only added Pro Tools Free, so there is no other software mucking things up.
Old 01-17-2006, 09:41 PM

Default Re: midi tracks \"stutter\" on playback

Is it only MIDI that's stuttering? Audio OK?

Which G3? Beige? B&W? I ran PTF for while on a Beige OS 9.2.2, and while the performance was better than my 8600 w/G3 upgrade OS 9.1 it wasn't as solid. The Beige has known issues with the PCI bus.

The Rev 1 B&W has a serious problem with the stock ATA bus. Can't handle some modern drives, and no slave support.

Never had this problem, but I only used MIDI a couple times with QT instruments. Nothing external.
Old 01-18-2006, 06:15 AM

Audio plays back fine.