Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2011, 07:54 AM
Jezzta667 Jezzta667 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Default Can someone explain this?

Ok so just researching which DAW I'm going to jump ship to and just thought I'd point this out and see if anyone can explain why this is the case.

Let's say I have all my own hardware, all I need is a DAW to do surround sound mixes. Two options available to me are:

Reaper- $60 unless I earn over $20k a year, in which case it's $225. This includes two major version upgrades for free.

Pro Tools- $600 plus $1995 for the CPTK which I need for surround. Any version upgrades will cost me most likely $300+

Reapers comments on their pricing: "We don't spend money and effort on marketing, complicated piracy protection, or other things that do not directly improve REAPER and the user experience. We think the good will generated by playing fair and being responsive to users is more valuable to our business than short-term profits. "

Meanwhile Avid give the users number 11 out of the top 11 most requested features for an exorbitant upgrade price.

Now can someone explain to me...

Why are we here?
  #2  
Old 11-10-2011, 08:01 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,563
Default Re: Can someone explain this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezzta667 View Post
Why am I here?
I fixed it for you.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
  #3  
Old 11-10-2011, 08:55 AM
Cloud_9 Cloud_9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Davie, Florida
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can someone explain this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezzta667 View Post
Ok so just researching which DAW I'm going to jump ship to and just thought I'd point this out and see if anyone can explain why this is the case.

Let's say I have all my own hardware, all I need is a DAW to do surround sound mixes. Two options available to me are:

Reaper- $60 unless I earn over $20k a year, in which case it's $225. This includes two major version upgrades for free.

Pro Tools- $600 plus $1995 for the CPTK which I need for surround. Any version upgrades will cost me most likely $300+

Reapers comments on their pricing: "We don't spend money and effort on marketing, complicated piracy protection, or other things that do not directly improve REAPER and the user experience. We think the good will generated by playing fair and being responsive to users is more valuable to our business than short-term profits. "

Meanwhile Avid give the users number 11 out of the top 11 most requested features for an exorbitant upgrade price.

Now can someone explain to me...

Why are we here?


I know why Im here. Perhaps your budget doesnt allow you to work in a PT surround environment? Have you tried Reaper?

I say give it a shot, there is no reason you cant combine efforts from both DAWs, there are many success stories here on the DUC regarding using Reaper rewired into PT. I havent had the need to move, and I am staying put at 9 until I definitely need an upgrade or until it really is no brainer, and when I say no brainer I mean it must transform me into a zombie and make me blindly click "add to cart".

I love Reaper's approach towards their customer base, is that from their website? Seems like a dream come true.....

but Im a PT guy, after giving Reaper a test spin, it seemed so detached from what I was used to that I decided at the time to let it go and invest my time in music making.

YMMV.....
__________________
PT11, Windows 10
RME Babyface
  #4  
Old 11-10-2011, 08:57 AM
Cloud_9 Cloud_9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Davie, Florida
Posts: 345
Default Re: Can someone explain this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
I fixed it for you.
Ha! Just got that....
__________________
PT11, Windows 10
RME Babyface
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could someone explain me something about ADC please? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-21-2008 04:14 PM
Can Someone Explain This??? Tricky Sam Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-25-2006 10:02 AM
Please Explain Pete Evick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-23-2003 01:33 PM
Somebody PLEASE explain why... silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-27-2002 07:54 PM
Explain it to me again... phdumas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-01-2002 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com