Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2012, 03:16 AM
E-Lister E-Lister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Posts: 5
Unhappy "The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz"

Last night I was working on a college project and everything was fine.

However, this morning every time I try and open my session I receive the following error:

"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz"

Playback engine in Pro Tools is currently set to my Mbox2

The only other option is ASIO4ALL v2 and selecting this option presents the error:

"The selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another audio device."

Anybody have any ideas?


Regards,





EDIT: Fixed the issue, please close/delete this thread.
__________________
E-Lister
HND Sound Production - Student

Last edited by E-Lister; 02-25-2012 at 03:31 AM. Reason: Resolved Issue
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:45 AM
AlainZagar AlainZagar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47
Default Re: "The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz"

I think this problem usually occurs if you have another sound card or motherboard sound feature in your computer and windows has defaulted to it for some reason.

In windows 7 go to control panel - Sound then try setting the Playback to the sound card that's currently paired to the ASIO driver.

Alain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: "The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz"

You might also try uninstalling ASIO4ALL. It hosed my system(but removing it solved everything).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:54 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: "The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz"

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlainZagar View Post
I think this problem usually occurs if you have another sound card or motherboard sound feature in your computer and windows has defaulted to it for some reason.
That's not quite right. This problem arises when you are using the Avid interface for default system sound and something is actually using it when you try to open Pro Tools.

The OP needs to quit any processes using the Mbox 2 and deselect it as the default system sound device.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current Playback Engine does not support sample rate sharpo07 Pro Tools 11 7 01-08-2016 05:32 AM
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz" error when tr eyeshow Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 19 09-09-2015 10:10 AM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 kHz. allegrarc macOS 9 11-27-2014 09:43 PM
"The current playback engine does not support a bit rate of 48kHZ" M-powered 8 beasleymusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-02-2011 03:17 PM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1 khz murdafew Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-14-2010 03:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com