Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:20 PM
AlainZagar AlainZagar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47
Default Re: Two jobs due and Pro Tools won't work!!!

This may sound totally crazy but I've stabilized my system and solved that problem months ago. I reduced the CPUs to just 3. On an i7 with 4 real cores this implies that 1 real core and 1 virtual core = 3 are good enough for my work. I'm guessing that the plug-ins like that mix and I tend to use a lot of plugins.

Your workflow is different than mine so this may not help.

You have nothing to lose at this point so why not try this? You may find some setting that works for you.

My settings
Host Processors - 3
CPU usage limit 90%
DAE buffer size = Level 2
Cache Normal

I don't think anything else matters. At least not for my systems.

If you do decide to play with this, take care - my system would crash if I played with the Host Processor setting if a session was loaded.

best of luck.

Alain
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-23-2012, 01:06 PM
THStudios THStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis, United States
Posts: 43
Default Re: Two jobs due and Pro Tools won't work!!!

Thanks for all of your help guys, I appreciate it. I called a friend of mine who's an audio post engineer and he told me to try losing the reverbs in my session. I did and it helped, but considering the specs of the machine that I was using, there's no reason why that amount of reverbs would have bogged it down like that.

All I can say is that, it works now, and I was able to finish the job.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Univeristies and Jobs Daxx44 Employment 2 01-01-2013 07:13 AM
200 jobs to go at Avid woodsdenis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 10-27-2011 07:27 PM
RIP Steve Jobs Ryan Young General Discussion 9 10-08-2011 09:41 AM
Jobs?? blackaxe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-30-2005 06:34 PM
New Jobs RULE!!!!! basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-25-2004 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com