Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2018, 03:05 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 174
Default Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

I own several of these units and one of them has recently started outputting cycilcal noise whilst at the same time not locking to house sync via word clock input.

The problem is intermittent and sometimes leaving the unit off for a while will make it work normally for a period of time.

I own six Euphonix converters in total and they are housed in a suspended rack which is occasionally moved between locations. The house clock is in the same rack and word clock cables are new and are never touched/fiddled with.

Furthermore, the units have built-in fans and an extra unit of rack space in between each other. The rack is suspended so there is an inch of space betwen the frame and the outside walls.

Any help is very much appreciated as is a copy of a service manual if it exists (I could not find one).
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2018, 08:24 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Try locking to a different sample rate...does that work ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2018, 11:30 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 174
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Try locking to a different sample rate...does that work ?
That does not work. At the moment if I switch off the unit and leave it off for a while it will work fine for some time. Then it will start emitting noise and the clock indicator will switch from 44.1/Word (Auto) to Custom/Word (Auto)



I will get a tech to look into it but would be very grateful for pointers so I do not just give him the unit and hope he can work out the rest.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2018, 07:15 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Yes, I'm speaking to the guy that actually fixes these and he's asking the questions. The fact it fails after it warms up points to a component failing.
So if you switch to Internal and 48Khz it still starts making noise ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2018, 03:17 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 174
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Yes, I'm speaking to the guy that actually fixes these and he's asking the questions. The fact it fails after it warms up points to a component failing.
So if you switch to Internal and 48Khz it still starts making noise ?

That is brilliant and much appreciated, Eddie!


The MA703 can't run on internal (being a D/A only) but I did try to select MADI as sync source with the same result. It goes to Custom and outputs noise.


It did occur to me, too, that it might be temperature related.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:27 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

This is most likely the crystal(s). We usually replace both when we're in there.

You should measure the +/- 18Vdc rails. They should be between 17.5-18Vdc. Attached is a picture. In this picture, the 3 test-points can be seen just under the serial number label, just to the right of the black heatsinks. They're labelled +18, GND, and -18.

The pictured board is a newer version with the regulators heatsinked, the older versions have the regulators lay flat, soldered to the board.

The crystals are custom-made by Cal Crystal Comclock. High-precision. We have some we could sell you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg crystals.jpg (55.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2020, 10:00 AM
MarcOFB MarcOFB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Denmark
Posts: 71
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

I might be having the same issue, my D/A emits this noise occassionally - im running it at 48khz internal clocking.

Would a masterclock solve this issue? Like a HD sync or big ben?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2020, 06:54 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 174
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcOFB View Post
I might be having the same issue, my D/A emits this noise occassionally - im running it at 48khz internal clocking.

Would a masterclock solve this issue? Like a HD sync or big ben?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The D/A cannot run on internal sync so I presume you mean MADI Input. If you have the same issue an external clock will not fix it.


As I do not know your setup it's hard to give you any other advice. If the D/A is the only thing you are using then you will not need an external clock. If you have an A/D in your setup I would recommend clocking your MA703 from the A/D's word clock Out (same for your computer sound card).


If your setup is any bigger than that a word clock unit makes sense.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2020, 07:02 AM
MarcOFB MarcOFB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Denmark
Posts: 71
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by fm_xtk View Post
The D/A cannot run on internal sync so I presume you mean MADI Input. If you have the same issue an external clock will not fix it.


As I do not know your setup it's hard to give you any other advice. If the D/A is the only thing you are using then you will not need an external clock. If you have an A/D in your setup I would recommend clocking your MA703 from the A/D's word clock Out (same for your computer sound card).


If your setup is any bigger than that a word clock unit makes sense.


My setup involves an AM713 and an MA703

And i connect the S5 to my Mac (daw) via a rme madiface usb (madi to usb converter, so no HD system present)

I thought of using a digidesign sync io i found in storage and use the word clock out from that and daisychain throughout the two converters and the SC264D (fusion setup, no DF66)

I have never fiddled with clocking before so im shooting blind here :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2020, 07:52 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 174
Default Re: Euphonix MA 703 (clocking) problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcOFB View Post
My setup involves an AM713 and an MA703

And i connect the S5 to my Mac (daw) via a rme madiface usb (madi to usb converter, so no HD system present)

I thought of using a digidesign sync io i found in storage and use the word clock out from that and daisychain throughout the two converters and the SC264D (fusion setup, no DF66)

I have never fiddled with clocking before so im shooting blind here :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So if I understand you correctly you have a System 5 desk plus Euphonix studio computer, a AM713 and a MA703 plus an RME sound card?

If that is the case you can try to daisy chain word clock from one device to the next, especially if they are located close to each other.

But I would consider getting a dedicated word clock unit especially if you are planning on adding any more devices requiring clocking to this setup.

The sync HD is not going to help you here as it is not a dedicated word clock generator/distributor. The only reason for having it is time code sync which is of no benefit to you as you aren't using HD hardware.

With only one A/D in your setup this unit should be running on internal sync and clock the rest of your devices. I would steer clear of word clock outputs and connect each unit with a T-Bar.

AM713 wc out
|
|
|--MA703 wc in
|
|
|--System 5 wc in
|
|
|
|--SC264D wc in
|
|
75Ω BNC terminator

The MADIFace will be quite happy locking to whatever appears on the MADI IN (and presumably the same is true for the System 5).

The only thing to keep in mind is that if you are using the coax and optical ports on the MADIFace at the same time whatever is feeding those Inputs should be synchronised to the same clock.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clocking Problem???? mybrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2010 01:09 PM
003 clocking problem rowchar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-21-2008 10:44 AM
Clocking problem with 96 i/o DonovanBomb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-14-2007 07:27 PM
Clocking Problem Fix... Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-14-2003 12:17 AM
Clocking problem? Please help kurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-11-2002 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com