Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2018, 05:48 AM
francois_harel francois_harel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 29
Default Compatible Preamp

Hi,
Is there an updated list of third-part compatible mic preamp?
Kind of preamp which I can control the gain inside the PT interface???
I found an old list in this forum and all listed preamp are very expensive ones.
I already have a Prism Lyra2 and I can found a way to control the preamp gain inside the PT console.
Thanks everyone.
Francois, Montreal
__________________
iMAC i5 with 32Gb of ram and Promise J4+SSD
Sibelius Ultimate running PLAY using SO Plat+, SC_VOTA, HS Dia, RA, Silk, QLSV
Pro Tools HD Ultimate & Prism Lyra2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,597
Default Re: Compatible Preamp

The only preamps that I know of that can be controlled within Pro Tools are the Avid 8 channel DigiPre and the Aphex and Grace remote preamps. Keep in mind that all of these must connect thru an interface(for audio) and ethernet/midi/usb for control functions. Personally, I am quite happy with having none of my preamps controlled from the session(maybe I'm just "old-school")
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2018, 01:24 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Compatible Preamp

MTRX/DAD AX32 preamps are also controllable with Pro Tools. But that isn't cheaper (more expensive).

That's in addition to the ones listed by albee1952.

They are generally not cheap because they are all remote 8 channel mic pres meant to be far away from the user. Not 1 or 2 channel mic pres part of an audio interface that sits near you. (Though you can find used DigiPres cheaply now -- you do not want to adjust gain while recording from Pro Tools as you will get zipper noise. The whole thing has never worked well which is why you don't see Avid pushing it.)

If you want the Lyra2 to be supported, complain to Prism. It is a really simple protocol. However, the Lyra doesn't appear to have any MIDI (midi port or MIDI over USB), so it will probably never be possible.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2018, 05:35 PM
francois_harel francois_harel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 29
Default Re: Compatible Preamp

Well, thank you for your help.
It seems that that price for controlling the preamp gain FROM Pro Tools is very high, when we can control it directly into the preamp.
I will continue using the mixer that came with my Lyra.
Francois
__________________
iMAC i5 with 32Gb of ram and Promise J4+SSD
Sibelius Ultimate running PLAY using SO Plat+, SC_VOTA, HS Dia, RA, Silk, QLSV
Pro Tools HD Ultimate & Prism Lyra2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preamp? Difference between preamp and normal mic AD Rockman413 Pro Tools 12 2 02-09-2016 05:25 PM
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 12:00 PM
002R Preamp and Outboard preamp jimbojimbo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-21-2007 06:49 AM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 09:23 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-05-2003 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com