Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-26-2019, 07:38 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Makes sense. Then there is nothing that can be done, right? If a 3rd party interface would be faster than Avid's they could match the RTL by slowing it down
Yeah, nothing can fix a longer delay unfortunately. Think its Apogee that go into quite a bit of detail on their thinking behind the latency - their A/D and D/A times are different so they could make the conversion quality up to the standard they wanted it to be (takes a little longer than Avid) and then refined the other side of the process to compensate - they add up the same as the HD i/o roundtrip so it all balances out. Seemed like a clever way of doing it
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-26-2019, 09:33 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 730
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
Yeah, nothing can fix a longer delay unfortunately. Think its Apogee that go into quite a bit of detail on their thinking behind the latency - their A/D and D/A times are different so they could make the conversion quality up to the standard they wanted it to be (takes a little longer than Avid) and then refined the other side of the process to compensate - they add up the same as the HD i/o roundtrip so it all balances out. Seemed like a clever way of doing it
Once Avid introduced the DigiLink license, they pretty much admitted that third party products exist. So it's a pity they don't have a plugin API (well, potentially just a configuration file format) that allows third parties to identify their interfaces and report the conversion delays and I/O names.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-26-2019, 11:03 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
So it's a pity they don't have a plugin API (well, potentially just a configuration file format) that allows third parties to identify their interfaces and report the conversion delays and I/O names.

If you use 3rd party iO’s that would be awesome
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-26-2019, 01:00 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 572
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I mean, this is only relevant if you are sending a signal outside the box, from one interface to another, right? If everything stays inside the Protools mix engine, it doesn't really apply, right?
It is only relevant if you are using a single interface that doesn't replicate the latency of a Digidesign or Avid model, and you try and add an analogue insert into your mix. When you do so, the problem is akin to a plugin that reports the wrong latency back to the mix engine, which in turn means automatic delay compensation offsets the audio by the wrong amount.

The problem is essentially mix engine based, as digilink interfaces have no way of reporting their latency back to Pro Tools and it has the potential to turn an expensive interface into a cheap, busted plugin.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-27-2019, 05:16 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Once Avid introduced the DigiLink license, they pretty much admitted that third party products exist. So it's a pity they don't have a plugin API (well, potentially just a configuration file format) that allows third parties to identify their interfaces and report the conversion delays and I/O names.
True, that would be nice. Or at the very least, if they licence the digilink connector to a manufacturer they at least put a restriction that the internal hardware must exactly emulate the Hd i/o
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-27-2019, 05:48 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 730
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
True, that would be nice. Or at the very least, if they licence the digilink connector to a manufacturer they at least put a restriction that the internal hardware must exactly emulate the Hd i/o
Yeah, although I don't know if they ever really licensed it – I think the third parties just reverse-engineered it. But maybe this has changed with the introduction of the license.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfaces under Inputs say DigiLink N/A. What's going on? [solved] Focuret Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-17-2018 10:23 AM
List of third-party Digilink interfaces? Matt Hepworth Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 07-20-2017 09:45 AM
Sample accurate recording derekvh Post - Surround - Video 2 02-03-2014 08:55 PM
AC3, is it Sample Accurate? minister Post - Surround - Video 13 03-13-2007 10:57 AM
Sample accurate midi? Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-09-2005 11:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com