Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2015, 03:23 AM
chaosaudio chaosaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default Update HD Software in the Future

I have ca.20 HD and HDX systems with PT 10 and PT11. I understand it correctly.
If I do not subscribe to the Support Plan until 31.12 2015 I will never update on PT HD13 without having to buy new HD hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2015, 07:38 AM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

We do need a clear explanation of this.

If we are on PT11HD, and if we skip 12, wait for 13 - what is it going to cost us to upgrade to 13 at that time (having skipped 12, so, going from 11 to 13) ????

This is still very unclear and has not been explained.

I am personally unsure I want or need 12. I also have a feeling the Collaborative Cloud will have it's own set of issues early on, so I don't know that i want to be an early adopter (especially when my 11HD rig is working and stable, and I currently use my FTP server for collaboration)
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2015, 03:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

We do not know yet, but I don't think there will be a PT13 before 31-DEC-2015 so I would guess we all need to upgrade to PT12 first. No more skipped versions? But this is just a guess.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2015, 10:48 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I would guess we all need to upgrade to PT12 first.
It all comes down to price. Upgrading to PT13 will cost $400 since we have to upgrade to PT12 first. But if PT13 doesn't have features I need, then PT14 will cost me $600.

It's getting expensive paying for features I don't want or need.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2015, 12:05 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
It all comes down to price. Upgrading to PT13 will cost $400 since we have to upgrade to PT12 first. But if PT13 doesn't have features I need, then PT14 will cost me $600.

It's getting expensive paying for features I don't want or need.
With HD, its 600$ a year, not 200$. So it is quite a bit more expensive.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2015, 12:08 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Table Syrup Records View Post
We do need a clear explanation of this.

If we are on PT11HD, and if we skip 12, wait for 13 - what is it going to cost us to upgrade to 13 at that time (having skipped 12, so, going from 11 to 13) ????

This is still very unclear and has not been explained.

I am personally unsure I want or need 12. I also have a feeling the Collaborative Cloud will have it's own set of issues early on, so I don't know that i want to be an early adopter (especially when my 11HD rig is working and stable, and I currently use my FTP server for collaboration)
We are still waiting for clarification from Avid on HD software. By all implications though, we will not be able to "skip" versions. We will be required to stay on the yearly support program to stay perpetual (own the license) or if we do skip a year, we will be required to rent or subscribe yearly from that point on which will not give us a perpetual license, so as soon as you stop renting or subscribing you can only use the license you last owned.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2015, 12:33 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

I'm guessing the market with orphan Pro Tools HD licenses will grow and you will be able to buy one on eBay. I'm still on version 10 and I will keep it with my HD Native for as long as I can. Even today my workflow would barely suffer if I was on PT8 or even 7.4. I will be fine with 10 for longer than 3 more years if I have to. I'm sure they will come up with something then.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2015, 02:03 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
I'm guessing the market with orphan Pro Tools HD licenses will grow and you will be able to buy one on eBay...
That's why I think they'll do something different.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2015, 03:04 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

According to the latest EULA, a PT license can only be transferred once, and then, only with Avid's permission.

I've taken to referring to it as a "sale of business" transfer...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2015, 03:12 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Update HD Software in the Future

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
According to the latest EULA, a PT license can only be transferred once, and then, only with Avid's permission.

I've taken to referring to it as a "sale of business" transfer...
HD licenses have technically never been allowed to be transferred without hardware. A while back they finally put a stop to it being able to happen through Ilok period. A native license has always had more freedom and I never knew of any restrictions, though I cant say I ever researched it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will there be any future update? ventus Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 1 02-27-2013 12:49 PM
Future Software Updates? Final Lap Guy Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 14 10-04-2012 03:31 PM
Future Pro Tools Version Could Be Software Only! froyo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-06-2007 10:41 AM
Some Future 6.7 update ideas Dee Mac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-11-2004 09:30 AM
Future software support for Mix systems? dstagl Tips & Tricks 2 01-18-2002 12:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com