Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-22-2011, 08:07 PM

Default MC Mix, Anyone..Do These Things Work?

I've been observing at a distance for a few months....on the one hand there seems to be a TON of problems with all this stuff, and yet, AVID has been very good about supporting older units with problems (displays, cracks) and supposedly redesigning them to be more stable.

While I'm sure there are bugs, what I want to know is this:

If you just want to program fades, and go into various automation modes in PT, do these things work?

I bought a Presonus Faderport to get my feet wet and it's a nightmare. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, sometimes you program in a fade and it writes the fade, but the fader doesn't move....then ...oops! Now it's moving! All that kind of stuff.

Is the Euphonix this flakey? A real world report on mixing in PT (I don't care about plug ins, just faders!) would really be appreciated.

Thanks
TH
Old 06-23-2011, 07:09 PM

Default Re: MC Mix, Anyone..Do These Things Work?

I really dig mine and fader moves aren't a problem at all. People complain about how loud the motors are but it only really bugs me when the automation is really active making the faders work a lot.