Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2009, 01:11 PM
Julien Apruzzese Julien Apruzzese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France, Paris.
Posts: 61
Default Stereo dithered mixer...

I just would like to know how many of you use the stereo dithered mixer instead of the default stereo mixer in a mix session.
I use it for years and hear a huge difference but anytime i work on a stranger studio, i meet the default stereo mixer on their protools setup.
Just to take a poll.
Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:33 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

I use the dithered mixer. I've noticed it sounds much better as well. It does eat up slightly more DSP, but whatever. It's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:02 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,613
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

Dithered
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:08 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

Here's a tip.

Put just the Surround Dithered mixer in the plugin folder and do an A/B with the just the dithered stereo.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:22 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

We always use the dithered, have for years, whether it's for music or film/TV.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:41 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,925
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

Can you use the dithered mixer for dolby e laybacks? I thought you could not.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2009, 07:20 PM
kittonian kittonian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA - USA
Posts: 334
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

We always use the dithered mixer. In fact, we advise our customers to do the same whenever we're helping setup a new PT system.
__________________
Joshua Aaron
President/Chief Eng.
AudioLot/AudioLot Studios
Pro Audio Sales/Consulting
http://www.audiolot.com

Follow AudioLot on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2009, 07:52 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

Exactly what does the Stereo Dithered Mixer do? I never paid much attention to it.

Thanks!
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2009, 09:37 PM
M2E M2E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Kakalaka
Posts: 956
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Here's a tip.

Put just the Surround Dithered mixer in the plugin folder and do an A/B with the just the dithered stereo.
Why, is there a difference between the stereo or surround dithered mixers?

Marc
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66ghz/PTHD3-10.3.10/OS 10.9.5/192 /16 Gigs Of RAM

New YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaZYp2wNomc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2009, 09:40 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Stereo dithered mixer...

how do you enable/disable it??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo mixer.dpm or Stereo Dithered Mixer.dpm in my plug-ins folder? Shame Pro Tools 10 1 02-13-2012 04:57 PM
Stereo dithered mixer with summing mixer? Brahamnesik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-16-2011 11:13 AM
dithered stereo mixer songman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-06-2006 08:33 AM
HD stereo dithered mixer lukeyy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-06-2003 12:23 PM
When using the stereo dithered mixer…? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-22-2003 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com