Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 04-18-2017, 09:43 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
first impressions are good, but no fine control? or am I missing something?
Fine control is the Command key (or Win in Windows)
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 04-18-2017, 11:06 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Fine control is the Command key (or Win in Windows)
That doesn't work here, also none of the modifiers on the S3 allow fine control. E.g. in Eq3, the smallest steps I can get in the mid range without modifier are 0.6-1.2 Hz, which is a little bit smaller than the D-command coarse control. However on the D-command ALT allows steps of 0.1 - 0.2 Hz. None of the modifiers on either s3 or keyboard make any difference here.

Anyway, thanks for the ballistics. So far so good here.

BTW: knob 19 is still broken in the eq3 (MF freq/MF q). It still doesn't update the display when toggling between freq and q. Also that knob is still very jumpy (maybe even more than before), especially when turning it down. It's quite a challenge to avoid jumps of 30-40 Hz every couple of minor steps you try to make. Supposedly this affects the Artist Series as well, as it did before.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 04-18-2017, 11:56 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
That doesn't work here, also none of the modifiers on the S3 allow fine control. E.g. in Eq3, the smallest steps I can get in the mid range without modifier are 0.6-1.2 Hz, which is a little bit smaller than the D-command coarse control. However on the D-command ALT allows steps of 0.1 - 0.2 Hz. None of the modifiers on either s3 or keyboard make any difference here..
I see what's happening, Command just removes the knob acceleration so its easier to hit a value. There is no fine mode. I'll look into it....

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
BTW: knob 19 is still broken in the eq3 (MF freq/MF q). It still doesn't update the display when toggling between freq and q..
You are right :-/ I can get that fixed. If you hit Sel and then the knob top it does switch !
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
Also that knob is still very jumpy (maybe even more than before), especially when turning it down. It's quite a challenge to avoid jumps of 30-40 Hz every couple of minor steps you try to make. Supposedly this affects the Artist Series as well, as it did before.
Sounds like a bad encoder ?
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 04-18-2017, 12:39 PM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I see what's happening, Command just removes the knob acceleration so its easier to hit a value. There is no fine mode. I'll look into it....
ok thanks!


Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
You are right :-/ I can get that fixed. If you hit Sel and then the knob top it does switch !

Sounds like a bad encoder ?
I doubt it's the encoder, it works perfectly fine with other plugins, e.g. Waves SSL eq. It seems to me those 2 issues are related to each other. Unfortunately I have only 1 S3 and no Artist series at my disposal to test at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 05-01-2017, 12:02 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
That doesn't work here, also none of the modifiers on the S3 allow fine control. E.g. in Eq3, the smallest steps I can get in the mid range without modifier are 0.6-1.2 Hz, which is a little bit smaller than the D-command coarse control. However on the D-command ALT allows steps of 0.1 - 0.2 Hz. None of the modifiers on either s3 or keyboard make any difference here.
I did some testing on Icon, S6 and S3, maybe I'm doing something wrong but I didn't see what you are seeing, here are my findings.

In EUCON both on S3 and S6 the knobs are always in fine mode, in fact they are much finer than the ICON is in fine mode.
The modifier just slows the control down in EUCON to make it easier to hit each value (although I couldn't get it to work on the S3 on Windows, which I'll look into)

EG. EQ3

LMF - Icon went from 379.1 to 395.5 in course and 379.1 to 382.4 in fine. S6/3 went from 379.2 to 379.8 in both.
MF - Icon in fine mode went from 593.4 to 599.0, S6/3 from 591.0 to 592.2
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 05-12-2017, 01:37 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I did some testing on Icon, S6 and S3, maybe I'm doing something wrong but I didn't see what you are seeing, here are my findings.

In EUCON both on S3 and S6 the knobs are always in fine mode, in fact they are much finer than the ICON is in fine mode.
The modifier just slows the control down in EUCON to make it easier to hit each value (although I couldn't get it to work on the S3 on Windows, which I'll look into)

EG. EQ3

LMF - Icon went from 379.1 to 395.5 in course and 379.1 to 382.4 in fine. S6/3 went from 379.2 to 379.8 in both.
MF - Icon in fine mode went from 593.4 to 599.0, S6/3 from 591.0 to 592.2
You're absolutely right. I was a bit quick on my judgement. I got the hang of it by now and it works great, very easy to quickly and precisely hit the right spots. So imo, this is a great update indeed. Seems like you guys are on the right track and I'm getting some good hopes this thing is seriously in development at last. Next steps that would save us mixers a couple of hours and plenty of eye strain every day, would be decent visual feedback (mainly on auto modes), a correct and normal way to switch auto modes using softkeys and working 'edit/mix window follows banking`functionality, also/mainly in VCA spill mode imo.

Anyway, thanks for the quick and detailed feedback and this major upgrade!
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 05-15-2017, 09:03 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Yes the (sorely lacking)automation feedback is the next thing I want to improve !
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:01 PM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: "Speed" of rotary knobs

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Yes the (sorely lacking)automation feedback is the next thing I want to improve !
I'm gonna nominate you for the Time Magazine Person of the Year 2017 Award!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 Discussion 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
"Slowing down the tape speed" bsmith23 Tips & Tricks 7 05-11-2009 07:03 PM
"Tape" speed MacSean112 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 07-01-2003 12:19 AM
The "FATE" of CM LABS "MotorMix" & "MotorMate". Dum dum dum dum... leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-15-2002 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com