Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2004, 03:39 AM
simonh simonh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default Noise when inserting an extra plug in

We're running a G4 dual 1.25gig, 1gig ram, HD3 with 192D interface, OS X.2.8, Protools 6.2

Most of the time things run fine, but on certain sessions (and there seems to be no consistency to this), you add one extra plug in to the dozen or so that you're using (mixture of dynamics processors plus a couple of reverb ones) and suddenly acquire noise that is akin to very loud dither noise or some other dodgy sampling-type noise. This then happens every time that you open the session.

The only possible explanation that I've managed to acquire from any source implies that I'm looking at a dodgy dsp chip on one of the process cards. Has anyone got any suggestions that either confirms this or negates it?

Simon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2004, 12:30 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Noise when inserting an extra plug in

Hi,
The next time this happens see if you can make it come and go by adding and removing the plug-in from the session. You can open up the system usage window and see which chip the new plug-in is coming up on. If the plug-in is starting a new chip remove the plug-in and click on the chip in the system usage window. This will turn the chip off by allocating it, when you put the plug-in back in it will come up on the next available chip. If your problem doesn’t go away check the version of the plug-in and try reinstalling it. If the plug-in is being added to a group on a chip that is in use you can create a new session and allocate all of the chips except for the on that is suspect. Insert the plug-in that was causing the noise until the chip is full. Listen to see if you are getting the noise again. If you can trace the noise to a chip you may have a bad chip. If this is the case you should contact us directly.

Thanks,
Digi Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:22 AM
low spark low spark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Noise when inserting an extra plug in

Simonh- I had the same problem with only Dverb. I have about the same setup G4 dual 1 gig.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:30 AM
simonh simonh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Noise when inserting an extra plug in

Thanks for the advice. I've managed to pin the problem down to a chip on the core card, so we can now work around the issue until our supplier can switch it out under warranty.

Cheers

Simon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inserting rtas plug ins on a track N0TiQ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-31-2008 04:09 AM
micing problems- extra noise lecherous Post - Surround - Video 2 08-16-2007 10:11 AM
Inserting EQ plug doesn't default to the EQ panel mtung ICON & C|24 3 04-20-2007 01:24 PM
Inserting A Plug-In PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-25-2005 09:36 PM
inserting a plug in on an input while overdubbing music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-07-2004 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com