Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-03-2020, 08:44 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Protools 12.XX performance optimization script and important tips!

This solution worked for me on my i9 9900K build on Windows 10 Pro 1903 and Pro Tools 2019.12. My interface is an RME Babyface Pro with the latest drivers installed. Optimizing Windows based on Pro Tools guide doesn't help. Playback with two audio tracks is barely possible at a 64 or 128 buffer until the fix is applied, after which point it plays back smoothly. Many thanks for this script, it's a big help.

I can confirm that using Processor Lasso or a script that launches Pro Tools with one core disabled in the processor affinity settings doesn't work, the settings must be applied either with the script manually in task manager.

However it begs the questions, why is it necessary? Any ideas of other ways to trouble shoot or some indication from Avid that a fix is in the works? Seems to me to be unacceptable behavior for a pro software of this caliber.

EDIT: Increasing the buffer to 1024 seems to more or less get rid of the CPU spikes, but running the script still seemed to offer a minute improvement based on an unscientific test.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:02 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: Protools 12.XX performance optimization script and important tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgillam View Post
This solution worked for me on my i9 9900K build on Windows 10 Pro 1903 and Pro Tools 2019.12. My interface is an RME Babyface Pro with the latest drivers installed. Optimizing Windows based on Pro Tools guide doesn't help. Playback with two audio tracks is barely possible at a 64 or 128 buffer until the fix is applied, after which point it plays back smoothly. Many thanks for this script, it's a big help.

I can confirm that using Processor Lasso or a script that launches Pro Tools with one core disabled in the processor affinity settings doesn't work, the settings must be applied either with the script manually in task manager.

However it begs the questions, why is it necessary? Any ideas of other ways to trouble shoot or some indication from Avid that a fix is in the works? Seems to me to be unacceptable behavior for a pro software of this caliber.

EDIT: Increasing the buffer to 1024 seems to more or less get rid of the CPU spikes, but running the script still seemed to offer a minute improvement based on an unscientific test.
You should be able to playback / record tons of tracks at a 64 hw buffer w a 9900k without any script like this. You have problems with settings whether it be bios and or OS that are causing your issues. I can literally have 100+ tracks in playback with lots of plugins and be doing overdubs on tracks at 128.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-04-2020, 10:35 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,245
Default Re: Protools 12.XX performance optimization script and important tips!

This thread has the optimizations I did as well as ALL the Avid ones.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 01-04-2020, 12:04 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Protools 12.XX performance optimization script and important tips!

Thanks to you both. When I toggled processor settings in BIOS it didn't resolve the issue, and my build has been rock solid with Cubase. However running Pro Tools as administrator seems to solve the CPU spikes without the need for the script. The problem with running PT as admin as Avid suggests is that drag and drop via Explorer and the Splice app no longer works, even when I run Splice as administrator. Do you know of a workaround?

Running ADSR Sample Manager and Resonic Player as admin allows me to drag and drop to PT when all are running as admin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Performance Optimization? PatriotsBiker Pro Tools 10 6 06-01-2012 08:26 PM
PTLE 8 optimization tips Hotcrazyfruit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-31-2010 03:59 PM
further os x optimization tips? Matt Chan Post - Surround - Video 5 02-10-2005 08:15 AM
Optimization tips for OS X & 002? jtarbutn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-02-2004 09:02 AM
OSX equivalent to Extensions in OS9 - OSX Optimization tips andrej770 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-07-2003 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com