Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:00 PM
giltzer14 giltzer14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ORANGE COUNTY
Posts: 11
Default Ichat and Soundflower with Pro Tools

Hello,

My goal is to use iMessage (formally iChat) to screen share my pro tools sessions to a buddy so we can mix and work on a session even when we are in different locations.

So far this works when we use the screen sharing feature, however he is only able to hear the audio from the session because it is picking it up from the microphone. I found about about Soundflower, and currently have it as the playback engine for the session (I've tried soundflower 2ch and soundflower 64ch). I set the microphone input in the audio/video preferences of iMessage to Soundflower, however he is still not able to hear any audio.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2012, 05:51 PM
takuya takuya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: Ichat and Soundflower with Pro Tools

Did you manage to solve this? It's an economical way to present sessions that many people would be interested in.

I couldn't quite get it to work either, but I have a workaround using the SPDIF out of my audio interface into a VRM box. Then selecting the VRM box as the audio input in iChat/Skype. But other engineers might not have this option so getting Soundflower to work would be ideal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2012, 09:30 AM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default Re: Ichat and Soundflower with Pro Tools

Not sure if audio quality is an issue for you but i guess it is seeing as you want to mix remotely... I've got a feeling that iChat is mono (i know Skype is) so I don't know how well it will work for you.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routed audio into Pro Tools w/ Soundflower lincol1 macOS 14 04-19-2012 10:34 PM
Soundflower into Pro Tools JMDNYC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 04-28-2011 10:24 AM
Anything like Soundflower available on PC? ChuckS Windows 0 04-09-2011 10:36 AM
Soundflower and 001? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2007 01:43 PM
soundflower and 002? mickblah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-24-2007 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com