Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Old 10-31-2020, 12:55 PM

Default Should I update? PT 11 vs 2020

Hi all…

I have been using ProTools for nearly 20 years. Historically, I drag my feet in regards to updating. I was on PT 5 for probably the first 10 years, Then PT 10/11 for the rest.

I live on a shoestring budget, and I use PT mostly for home-based production... solo artists, small bands, live recording set ups, etc. So, my needs are not sophisticated.

I have the opportunity to update to PT 2020. I am weighing the options as to whether I should do this now, considering if I don’t, I may be out of money and not be able to do it in the near future.

My computer is aging, but it was top-notch when I built it probably 10 years ago. I have updated the ram, solid-state drives, and a slightly newer video card.

What are the main reasons that I would want to update at this time? What features or functionality might I benefit from?

I also get the impression that PT plays nicely with many more computers nowadays. Last time I updated, it still required very specific components for the thing to work properly. How is compatibility these days? Should I expect it to work on my aging system?

Any thoughts that you have, or info you can provide, would be extremely appreciated!

Thank you!
Old 10-31-2020, 03:30 PM

Default Re: Should I update? PT 11 vs 2020