Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2020, 11:45 PM
paulisdead paulisdead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 13
Default Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

During the lockdown, I'm taking this opportunity to finally transfer some of my old ADAT tapes to Pro Tools 12.

However, I'm having some issues with the input levels going to the MBox. The levels I'm getting are LOW, I mean around -70 db low.

Set up:
  • Alesis 20 bit ADAT
  • Unbalanced Phono outputs via RCA cable to Unbalanced 1/4" adaptors
  • Inputs 1-6 on the MBox Pro

I've switched between the +7/-10 and have noticed no difference (the ADAT recorder is -10 dBv output according to the manual).

I have tried a different analogue audio source using the same cables and have found no issues (i.e. I get normal levels).

I know this is a cumbersome and low-rent low of doing this, but I've got the time to do multiple passes.

Is the issue with the ADAT's output or my cable set-up? Should I invest in a snake or bite the bullet and invest in a ADAT to firewire solution (003 rack)?

Last edited by paulisdead; 04-16-2020 at 12:03 AM. Reason: Expanded explanation
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2020, 12:02 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,279
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

It does sound like there’s an issue with the analog outs on the ADAT machine. If you know anyone else doing production, I’d beg, borrow or rent an interface with ADAT optical on it to make sample accurate transfers.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2020, 12:23 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

Try to rent or borrow a audio interface with adat optical inputs. For example an RME Digiface...

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2020, 12:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,723
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
Try to rent or borrow a audio interface with adat optical inputs. For example an RME Digiface...

Best

Mark
Or Digi002 or 003
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2020, 12:48 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Or Digi002 or 003


yes, exactly right. But only if you’re an Avid hardware aficionado...
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2020, 01:02 PM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 467
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

you also have ELCO connectors for balanced outputs, right? these should be +4, so maybe look around for an ELCO to 1/4" TRS or XLR cable?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2020, 03:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,723
Default Re: Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro (getting low levels from outputs)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
yes, exactly right. But only if you’re an Avid hardware aficionado...
I just figured that its a solution that doesn't cost much(since this may never get used again), and with ADAT connection, the quality of the interface/converters won't matter at all Re Elco connections, I think there were a lot of ADAT machines that didn't have those and were only RCA for analog connection(which I would only use as a last resort)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring ADAT tapes with MBox Pro paulisdead FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 08-01-2017 04:15 PM
Transferring DA38 tapes HSLand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-04-2017 08:28 AM
Help with transferring ADAT tapes to PT - clock issues? gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2008 03:17 PM
2 tapes, 1 Adat keny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-19-2002 12:22 AM
Good source for ADAT tapes Gingley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-01-2002 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com