Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2012, 01:57 PM
YouMeOh YouMeOh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Angry Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

Can someone please help me? I'm starting to freak out. Here's the problem (partially described in this thread):

Recently bought a used iMac i7 27" from late 2009. Installed Pro Tools 10 to use with my Mbox 2. I am getting the error
"Problem detected with audio clock. Check that your clock source and sample rate are correct".

Some projects work for a while, then I get the error. On some projects, I can't start playback what so ever. All projects are 44.1Khz and I'm using the internal clock. Recently, the problem starting happening more and more. I am also getting messages saying

"Pro Tools is unable to reacquire the hardware because it is in use by another application. Please quite other applications and hit "OK" to retry. If the hardware cannot be acquired, please quit and relaunch Pro Tools. ".

This happens after I reboot the computer, no other softwares is running and I am not using my Mbox as the soundcard for the iMac (using the internal one).

I am also getting "Pro Tools hardware is either not installed or used by another program". This leads me to believe that there's something wrong with the drivers, but I have installed the latest ones. I am not iusing the Mbox with any other applications.

I have gotten similar problems at work (I work in the music software industry) but not nearly as much. At work I use the Mbox 2 Mini with a MacBook Pro.
I have tried all different USB ports but it doesn't make any difference. Is it time to get rid of the old Mbox 2 and get the 3rd generation or can it (and my money) be saved?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2012, 12:18 AM
YouMeOh YouMeOh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

Nobody? Or am I given the silent treatment because the answer is elsewhere? If so, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 01:13 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

Only thing I can think of is trashing Pro Tools Preferences - that may fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2012, 01:52 PM
YouMeOh YouMeOh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

Where do I find them?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2012, 03:34 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2012, 02:48 PM
paulrgmusic paulrgmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 251
Default Re: Mbox 2 with PT10 = major problems.

Hi

I have exactly the same problem except I'm on a mid 2011 iMac 27" 3.4 i7 12GB RAM and 10.7.3 Lion and an Mbox 2 Pro. I've trashed prefs and repaired permissions to no avail.

I have (I think) narrowed it down to the Mbox or its drivers. I ran PT10.0.1 today on the internal sound device (thus taking the Mbox 2 Pro out of the equation) and I ran session after session with no problem. I switched back to the Mbox and within a few minutes had the error.

If a session starts, it seems to be fine for as long as you are on the session. When you load a different session it often goes belly up.

Any other ideas?

Paul
__________________
2011 27" iMac
3.4 GHz i7
12GB RAM
500GB G-Drive Mini (FW audio drive)
Mac OS X 10.7.3 (Lion)
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Mbox 2 Pro (connected by FW)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major problems wih Pro Tools 10 and Digi003 Factory AND Mbox 3 mini DanielWiklander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-11-2013 01:05 PM
Mbox 2 major dc offset problems...... bubblersound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-08-2010 10:24 AM
MAJOR Problems with Mbox 2 Factory & Computer... rbercovi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-10-2009 03:32 AM
mbox 1 and new iMac 20" core audio major problems. Loquacious1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-14-2007 01:06 PM
MBOX Major Problems, Please help Skettalee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-14-2004 02:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com