Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 02:37 PM
eargizzle eargizzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

I have been having a problem where Pro Tools sometimes will freeze while its opening. It specifically freezes when loading the Xpand! plugin. I went to the plugin folder and moved Xpand! out and tried to boot again and it then froze on the plugin that loads right before Xpand! which is VariFi. My guess it is will just freeze on whatever is the last plugin in that folder.

If I restart my computer and load Pro Tools it loads fine. It just becomes a huge inconvenience because I end up having to restart several times a day.

Here are the specs on my system:
•Macbook Pro 2.8 Core i7
•OSX 10.7.2
•Pro Tools 9.0.6
•Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2012, 02:08 AM
tombi tombi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 62
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

I have the exact same problem! And like you say, eargizzle, it's not the end of the world but clearly irritating.

Any updates on the way to fix this? 9.0.7?

iMac 2,8 GHz intel core i5 (quad core)
RAM 4GB
Pro Tools 9.0.6
CPTK
Digi 002R
OSX Lion 10.7.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2012, 01:25 PM
DilloOne DilloOne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

So glad to see that there are a couple of you with the same problem...not so glad to see that there are no posted solutions yet.

I had 9.0.5, so I updated to 9.0.6 as recommended, then I updated to Lion (10.7.2) and PT gets stuck right after Xpand. I also dumped Xpand and then it freezes at the plug-in before it. I don't think it's a plug-in problem because it freezes after whatever is the last plug-in in the list. I believe it's a problem with whatever comes next...I just don't know what that is.

Tried trashing prefs and presets, tried safe uninstall and reinstall, then tried complete uninstall then reinstall of 9.0.5, then update to 9.0.6. Updated my ilok software and drivers. Reinstalled PT 9 drivers. I've always been able to get through it before, but I have to say...I'm stuck. Pleeeeeeeeaaaaase help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 01:29 PM
DilloOne DilloOne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

Sorry, forgot to post specs...

Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
12GB Ram
OSX Lion 10.7.2
Pro Tools 9 HD, 9.0.6
96 I/O

Also, unlike the others, restarting does not change things for me...I haven't yet been able to get it to open.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2012, 02:06 PM
NickCia NickCia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 27
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

...same problem!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:23 PM
DilloOne DilloOne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

Has anyone found any answers to this problem yet? I still am without PT and I really don't want to go back to Snow Leopard and 9.0.5. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:20 PM
drvibb drvibb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

I am having this same issue running 10.6.8.

Also, I am getting an Assertion error:

"Assertion in"../../NewFileLibs/FF/Audio/Elastic/FF_Packetlterator.h",line74"

When this happens, PT no longer plays and the screen only shows the tracks on the edit window (the area for the regions is completely dark gray).

In addition, the pencil tool does not work at all for waveforms, although it does work for volume automation.

Any ideas??

Dr. Vibb

PT 9.0.6 on Mac Dual Quad Intel running 10.6.8
HD-4 system
14GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2012, 06:34 AM
diskeditor diskeditor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

same here.......
be nice if avid got involved
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2012, 08:13 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default

Good luck - its kinda like winning the lottery if they pick ur's out of the multitude !!! Trashing pref's didn't work ????

Holding down "N" ???

I guess some people have success running 9.05 but I would run 9.06 and 10.7.4
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2012, 11:54 AM
Apolloape Apolloape is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.6 freezes when loading

Has anyone in this thread been able to get this issues resolved?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools freezes up while loading plug-ins.... WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 07-01-2013 08:01 AM
Computer Freezes while loading Pro Tools GSG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-27-2011 07:19 AM
After 9.0.3 upgrade Pro Tools Freezes Loading Dekazman Windows 1 06-23-2011 03:26 AM
Help!! Pro Tools freezes when loading DAE options DEATHMAN 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-10-2009 12:12 AM
Pro Tools LE freezes when loading Squishy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-04-2008 08:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com